RSS

Review: The Pilgrims (Book 1 of The Pendulum Trilogy) by Will Elliott

12 Jun

Morning! Werner’s latest review for you! 🙂

***

I’m not a big fan of Portal Fantasy, so when I was given “The Pilgrims” to read the only reason I read it was because it was published by Jo Fletcher Books (I still have to read a book form them I didn’t like).

The story focuses on Eric Albright and his friend, Stuart Casey, who both see a red door in the midst of graffiti – and when people come out of it they know the door opens to another world. Styling themselves protectors, they guard the door for over a week and nothing happens. Just when they doubt their sanity, Eric on his way to a job interview, hears someone calling for help. He realizes that it’s coming from the other side of the door, leaves a note in the dirt for Steward, and enters this new world. Later that same day Stuart finds the message and enters a few hour after Eric.

Will is a born storyteller, as the whole book flows. It moves naturally. I enjoyed ever second of the book and really didn’t want to put it down. I liked the pace of the story and you really feel like someone is playing chess with the characters, as they fail to be moved, sometimes, or make choices that are out of character. Some of the things that bothered me about Portal Fantasy are here, too, but Will uses these things as ‘comic’ relief (I am Batman).

He also focuses on the new world a lot more – other portal stories focus on our world a lot and I don’t like it, because I live here and want to know about the other places. This story has dragons and Gods and naked women with white angel wings – what more could a guy ask for? 🙂 The concept of the dragon scales, especially, I found intriguing. Reminds me of tribes eating the heart of enemies for courage or the brain for wisdom.

The world is beautifully realized and scary as hell, and so strange sometimes, just what we want. The plot evolves beyond what you think and at the end you know that the next one will blow you away. I won’t say this made me a fan of Portal Fantasy, but it definitely made me a fan of Will Elliott.

7/10

untitled

To order your copies of “The Pilgrims“, check out the novel’s page at Jo Fletcher Books, or click the following links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Book Depository, Exclusive Books.

Until tomorrow,

Be EPIC!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

You are most welcome, GEIST.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

