RSS

Review: Canticle by Ken Scholes (Psalms of Isaak Book 2)

20 Nov

A few years ago I was given Lamentation to read. At that stage it was a book that most people I knew were talking about. So, as you can imagine I was really looking forward to reading this book. I have to say that it was not as great as everyone kept saying and I found myself a little disappointed – though I will say that I could see the potential in the story. I had gotten book 2 and 3 at the same time and for a long while they just sat on my shelf. So with book 4 on the way I decided to read book 2 and later 3 so I would be ready when 4 dropped.

Now I can say after reading Canticle that I am angry with myself for leaving such a good book unread for that long! The potential I found in the first book comes out and punches you in the face! His writing is clear, the vision crystal and the flow so natural that hours pass around you without you being aware of it. The surprises in this book are so varied that I gave up trying to plot what would happen next, because just when you think you’ve got a handle on things, Ken kicks you in the stomach and laughs while you try to figure out what’s going on.

This book finds Rudolfo – The Gypsy King, trying to rebuild the library that was destroyed in the desolation of Windwir. At his disposal he has Isaak, friend and metal man with others like him who have locked in their memory scrolls most of the information that was lost. His wife Jin Li Tam is desperate to find a cure for he sickly son and will stop at nothing to find it.

Petronus moves back to his small hut in Caldus Bay hoping to find some quite so he can find the enemy none knew they had. Neb joins the gypsy scouts and when word reaches them of sanctorum lux they move with haste to the churning wastes, the ruins of the old world, to get there before anyone else does. Neb needs to go as he is, according to the queen of the Marchvolk, the home-seeker and this is his destiny – little does he know that some out there would see him as a abomination. While he struggles in the wastes the queen has some problems of her own. She is struggling to hold on to her people and the cause my be closer than they all realize.

8/10

canticle-by-ken-scholes

 

Canticle

And what of Vlad Li Tam? Ill just say this…what the hell!?

If you haven’t discovered the Named Lands yet then then jump on the wagon, we all must help to preserve the light.

For more info on Ken Scholes and his work, check out his official website here; to order your copies of Canticle, click here for Amazon US, here for Amazon UK, and here if you’re in South Africa.

Werner

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Review: Canticle by Ken Scholes (Psalms of Isaak Book 2)

  1. James Oliver

    November 20, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    I loved both Lamentation and Canticle, but gave up on the series after several attempts to get through, or even into, Antiphon. I can’t even explain my issue with the book, though I vaguely remember complaining about the prose (though I found Scholes unobtrusive prose a highlight of the previous two books).

    If you enjoyed his novels, he also has a couple of short fiction collections that are worth checking into.

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

You are most welcome, GEIST.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

