RSS

Review: The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

06 Sep

I’ve got a bit of a history with this book – I first saw a copy when it arrived in the store I work in and I was immedietly pulled in by the title – simply put, the cynical reader in me thought, “Yeah, right – there is never a ‘last’ anything…’ and then I read the back cover and thought, ‘Okay, sounds interesting,’ but it just didn’t have the pull, you know? So I waited a couple of weeks, read the first page. showed it to a couple of customers, and the more I did the more interested I became.

Eventually we received an ARC of Tallulah Rising and I thought, “Hah! I knew I was right!” So I read the back of Tallulah, probably ten words or so, and then put it back down. Idiot, I thought. Picked up The Last Werewolf. Began reading. Sunk away… 😉

So, now that my little tale is out of the way – read this book. Please, pleasepleaseplease read this book! The only way to get rid of these crap shape-shifters in the Twilight saga and True Blood is to take werewolves back to what they were – vicious, strong, sometimes-bipedal, all claws and teeth and instinct and none of this Jacob’s-longing-gaze crap! Anyway, rant over.

But seriously. The Last Werewolf is my kind of werewolf, the old-school kind, the kind you’ll see transformning in American Werewolf in London with the ferocity and power of the werewolves in the Underworld movies. These are kickass and terrifying! Best I’ve ever come across. 🙂

Story-wise, The Last Werewolf is at once an epic journey of discovery, both for the main character and for the reader, and an exsquisite poem of love and longing the likes of which left mefeeling hollow and frazzled and heartbroken and amazed when I finished it. It’s a kick up the ass with steel-toe’d pointy shoes, frenetic and shocking and heart-warming and even infuriating – the only movie / book / comic etc. I can compare it with is the feeling I was left after I watched Trainspotting for the first time. You know, dazed, reeling from that intense glimpse of a world I had no clue existed.

If you’re a conservative reader, meaning you like nice, formulaic, tidy, happy-ending-kind of books, books that don’t really challenge your beliefs, that leave you in your comfort zone, then this book is most definitely not for you. So, stop reading this review, because I’m just wasting your time. 🙂

if, however, you’re the opposite-kind of reader, I’m pretty sure this book will kick your ass as it did mine. 🙂

It’s written in First Person, just in case you needed to know that, so for the length of the book you’re in, ahem, Jacob Marlowe’s head. He’s interesting and learned and sarcastic and, as I hinted above, infuriating. I couldn’t think of a better character to tell this tale, however. 🙂

I won’t say anything else – I just don’t want to give away too much, or even run the risk of saying too little – I absolutely loved this book, and I applaud Glen Duncan for not being shy or conservative, for sticking his finger way up the ass of what people today think werewolves are, for writing a book that’ll probably haunt me for years, if not for the rest of my life.

One hell of a glorious, terrifying and true-to-itself ride – please read it!

10 / 10

To order your copies of The Last Werewolf click here for Amazon US, here for Amazon UK, and here if you’re in South Africa.

Check out

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

  1. Lauren

    September 6, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    The pointy shoes and fingers going up asses is kind of making me go “ewww…” but otherwise, I’m sold 🙂

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      September 7, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Hehehehe, 🙂 I’m just so impressed with this book, hope you enjoy it! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

