RSS

Review: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

19 Sep

So it’s been a long while since I’ve posted reviews – for some or other reason, I’m having insane and irritating problems with connecting my phone to my laptop and getting an internet connection going; right now I’m sitting at my girlfriend. But at least I’ll be able to post a new review! 🙂

After having read (and really enjoyed) I Am Number Four, and after watching the movie adaptation (which was also pretty damned good, I have to admit), I’d been seriously looking forward to getting The Power of Six, and I’m glad to report that the second book in the series didn’t disappoint at all. 🙂

The Power of Six is quite a departure from the first book, though – still written in the first-person perspective, the novel opens with a Loric that we’ve not yet met, and proceeds to tell her story as well as the continuation of John Smith’s story. So, having two different first-person perspectives to read might confuse some readers out there – I’m not sure it was the way to go, but towards the end of the novel the two perspectives do come together (from a certain point of view), and there is enough of a difference in the ‘voices’ that after a chapter or two the initial confusion recedes.

The new Loric character was a bit boring initially, I have to admit – but as her story unfolded I found myself really sympathizing with her; John’s guardian was all about keeping him safe and up-to-date on everything Lorien and Mogadorian, but her guardian isn’t, which created a tense isolation for her to deal with. This, coupled with what happens toward the end of the novel (and the revelations, pertaining to a certain ‘other ship’ that John had a vision of in the first book), made her storyline entertaining enough – but not as cool as John’s storyline.

John’s is full of action and humour and does more to advance plot – not only do we find out even more about Lorien and Mogadore, but we get plenty of awesome action scenes and -dare I say it- an excellent cliffhanger. 🙂

The Power of Six can stand alone as a great novel, even though its structure and writing style differs to I Am Number Four, and if you’ve watched the movie but not read the book you can still enjoy The Power of Six. As I Am Number Four was, the second book is entertaining and fun, and I’m pretty sure that the next book will be intense and filled with wall-to-wall action. 🙂

7 / 10

To order your copies of The Power of Six, click here for Amazon US, here for Amazon UK, and here for SA (Exclusive Books); the book is on the shelves across South Africa, so if you don’t do online-ordering, just head into your closest Exclusive Books and get yourself a copy. 🙂

If you want more info about the series, check out this link.

Be EPIC!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2011 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Review: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

  1. A Shadow Falls

    September 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I think that’s the first time I’ve heard someone ‘sit at their girlfriend’ to write a blog post, makes a change from the laptop I suppose! 🙂

    I’ve seen the film, ‘I Am Number Four’, and I wasn’t a big fan. It was OK to pass the time, but it wasn’t really my thing, which is a pity because I’m a big fan of SciFi. The book is always better thought, so I’d be tempted to give it a read. My wife enjoyed the film, so I might get her to read it first as a benchmark.

    Although you don’t directly come out and say it, I get the impression that you preferred ‘I Am Number Four’? In that case I think it’s one I might skip, as I wasn’t one hundred percent sold on ‘I Am Number Four’.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      September 19, 2011 at 10:37 am

      I did prefer I Am Number Four, but for different reasons, I s’pose – The Power of Six is a different kind of novel; it advances the story more and is probably setting up huge battles and revelations in the next book, and it was entertaining, but more satisfying than as cool as the first book was. 🙂

       
      • A Shadow Falls

        September 19, 2011 at 10:40 am

        Ok, different is good. It’ll be on my “I’ve read everything I know will be good, let’s try something else” reading list 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

You are most welcome, GEIST.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

