RSS

New Stephen King Novel – 11/22/63

02 Mar

Just saw this news thanks to a good friend, Curt Jarrell, and I just had to share it with you all!

August this year will see Stephen King taking us back in time to the assassination of JFK:

Here are some links for more info – Stephen King’s website, Hodder UK page, promotional page.

Don’t know if this is the actual final US cover, but if it is it’s certainly attention-grabbing – imagery of JFK and Stephen King’s name are sure to turn heads.

To say I’m looking forward to this is an understatement, of course. 😉

Be EPIC!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Announcements

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “New Stephen King Novel – 11/22/63

  1. The Writing Runner

    March 4, 2011 at 12:30 am

    I’m really excited to see what King does with this concept. Even though it has a SF idea at the core (time travel and changing history), it actually made me think of the novella Hearts in Atlantis (from the linked story collection of the same name). I think King has A LOT more to say about that era, and this is the book where he’s going to do it!

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      March 4, 2011 at 6:25 am

      I totally agree, I think this book might be a Swan-song to the generation that witnessed JFK’s assassination – I also think it may be quite a critical look at the USA of JFK and the USA of Obama, I think we might get a sense of ‘Camelot’ in the novel. Anyway, that’s just me. 🙂

       
      • The Writing Runner

        March 4, 2011 at 5:06 pm

        Yep, it will be VERY interesting to see what he does… and he can cover a lot of ground with 960+ pages! 🙂

         
  2. Z S Roe

    March 6, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I enjoy the hell out of SK, though I couldn’t help but raise an eyebrow in question when I heard about this book. The premise is a bit fanciful and not in an especially imaginative way. Then again, the idea behind Under The Dome seemed a little silly at first, too. I guess what separates King from lesser writers is his ability to take a simple idea and explore it in ways that are both surprising and sophisticated. And, like The Writing Runner said, King is at his best when he’s writing about the 60s. I’d go so far as to say that Hearts In Atlantis is his finest piece of writing.

    In the end, I’ll be picking this title up the day it comes out. There’s no doubt about that.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      March 6, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      It definitely is different to what he usually tackles, but I s’pose he’s proved just how versatile he is and I’m really looking forward to it. 🙂

       
  3. ccgevry

    March 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I’m excited about this book. Both the hubby and I enjoy King’s work, but I’m much more a Green Mile and The Stand type of King fan than a Pet Semetary type of fan. It will be interesting to see what he does with this event.

     
  4. uncoolghoul

    April 15, 2011 at 5:38 am

    Oooooo, this sounds good. I really need to catch up on my Stephen King reading. Any idea when it will be published?

     
  5. Americas Studies

    November 19, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    I’m reading it at the moment. Completely addictive! Stephen King triumphs again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist with an affinity for satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, Arizona with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

The Battle Has Just Begun

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

