RSS

News: Star Wars and Nolan’s 3rd Batman Movie

19 Jan

Just saw this news:

The cover of Paul Kemp‘s third (counting from Crosscurrent and including Deceived) Star Wars novel, Riptide, has been revealed. Riptide is the sequel to Paul’s Expanded Universe debut, Crosscurrent, which I reviewed here. Here’s the cover:

Er… I’ll have to be completely honest and say that this cover just doesn’t do it for me. Not only is it a complete departure from Crosscurrent’s cover, but it also just doesn’t look like Jaden to me (meaning, the Jaden in Jedi Academy).

But, I’m seriously looking forward to this book! 🙂 It’ll become available on July 26th, and you can pre-order your copies here (Amazon US) and here (Amazon UK). (Thanks to EU Cantina, where I saw the post; head on over to their site to read Riptide’s blurb) Paul will also be writing a dulogy set in the EU, check out the news here.

Next up, news about The Dark Knight Rises:

“Batman has found a nemesis for his next cinematic adventure – and it looks like a love interest, too.”

The love-interest? Anne Hathaway, who’ll be portraying (YES!) Selina Kyle – Catwoman! 🙂 (well, that’s who Selina is, so it’s a no-brainer). 🙂 Very chuffed with this – I think Anne will be able to pull off Selina damn well and it’ll be great to see her in an excellent action movie again.

Other news, and potentially bigger: BANE. You read that right. Check out this post for all the details.

And can I just say that I would give my left kidney for a ticket to the premiere? (including air-fares and accomodation?) 😉

Be EPIC!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “News: Star Wars and Nolan’s 3rd Batman Movie

  1. noothergods

    January 20, 2011 at 12:06 am

    You’re right that is not a great piece of cover art. I am excited to hear about Anne Hathaway playing Catwoman though, I think she could do a very good job with the part. Bane on the other hand, well, I hope they do justice to the character and that’s all I’m going to say about that.

     
  2. inkspot

    January 20, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Hmm, not sure how I feel about Hathaway as Catwoman, but I like Tom Hardy and I’ll watch absolutely anything Nolan wants to make. Can’t wait!

     
  3. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    January 20, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I think Anne will do very well as Selina / Catwoman – especially the Catwoman in the comics now; I think she fits the role perfectly. 🙂

    Thomas Jane as Bane I’d watch any time – the thing with Bane is that he’s not actually as complicated as Batman’s other enemies; he grew up in prison, lived an extremely harsh life, got mixed up with Venom, and then proceeded to manoeuvre Batman’s other enemies to wear down the Bat before he broke him. Just on the face of that he’s actually a coward, not wanting to face Batman in a proper battle. I think Chris is going to give us a Bane that will be utterly memorable and insanely cool and I’m really curious to see what direction he takes with Bane. 🙂

     
  4. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    January 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Er, yikes that was dumb! *Not* Thomas Jane – *Tom Hardy* 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
