RSS

The Joys of a 3rd World Internet Connection…

12 Nov

Hey everyone, yes, I’m still alive, but my ADSL line is not. In fact, it’s probably crawling with unmentionable cthulu-like creatures that were birthed at the moment of its anti-climactic death… 😦

I’ve phoned the ADSL provider (Telkom – they are idiots and lazy idiots, at that) about seven times, had conversations with probably seven different people, explained seven times that I can’t connect to the internet, explained seven times about the pretty lights flashing and not flashing on the modem, and have had technicians out to check the line 3 times already. Oh, and the problem has been ‘escalated’ three times, too (I actually wonder if anyone at Telkom has the faintest inkling of what that word means and how to implement it in their work).

In fact, I’m beginning to think that the technicians quick-fix the line so that it’ll see its arse again so that I can call them out again so that they can get paid, AGAIN.

Third World, huh?

I have no idea when I’ll be back up and blogging (Telkom cannot tell me, either) but hopefully it’ll be soon.

Be EPIC!

for me because I’m struggling… 😦

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in Announcements

 

3 responses to “The Joys of a 3rd World Internet Connection…

  1. Lu

    November 12, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    OMG welcome to the “I hate Telkom” club

    Allow me to rant! My line gets stolen once a month, and “breaks” every second week! I am not joking. It is ridiculous. Their infrastructure is horrible and their service is disgusting. They have been charging me at work for a line since February that I didn’t know about and they only found it 2 weeks ago after the technician had to track it down somewhere in the street. Good luck trying to get a refund….

    They lie, and give falls information when you call them, and the one is as useless as the next one.

    Nobody can beat their service. Nobody

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      November 14, 2010 at 9:07 am

      My line is working again!! 😀 Took almost a full week to get it fixed, but man, am so glad that I’m connected again!

      Sheesh, Lu, reading what you went through makes me fell like I shouldn’t even have ranted! O.o Hope everything was sorted out in the end, though. 🙂

       
  2. Lu

    November 14, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Heheh nah you have the right to rant 🙂 Hopefully they sort themselves out soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

