RSS

SFF News of the past week

22 Oct

Hey Everyone, hope you’re all having an amazing Friday evening / afternoon / morning! 🙂 I have to apologize – I have completely forgotten what I wanted to post for today so I’m going to be giving you guys some links to check out and info to mull over. 🙂

First up (I just saw this on IMdb), Stephen Norrington is no longer involved as director of the upcoming The Crow remake. Sure, I feel for Stephen, but I’m actually glad to hear this – I’m firmly in the camp that agrees that The Crow stands on it’s own as an incredible, terrible (and by that I mean intense and deeply affecting) and brilliant movie, and I see it as one of the best graphic novel adaptations of all time. When I firs watched The Crow I had no idea who Brandon Lee was; I didn’t even know he had died during the filming of the movie. But I watched it and I cried afterwards. When I read James O’Barr’s original graphic novel I cried most of the way through – not because it was sad, you understand, but because it was so utterly deep and intense. Think the ‘Cat in the Hat’ moment… In any case, what I’m getting at is this – James lost someone very close to him and used and wrote The Crow as a way of dealing with his pain; Brandon died bringing us the original movie, and whatever conspiracy theories you can think of don’t really matter; his death not only made it more tragic (if that was even possible) but oddly and ironically personal – his unintended sacrifice gave me an experience that I’ll never forget. So yes, I’m happy that the movie is in trouble – leave it alone; it can’t be bettered but it can certainly be changed. The generation that watched The Crow will always measure anything to do with The Crow by Brandon’s movie, but the generation that watches the remake (should it get made) might never even think to watch the original and that will be terrible indeed.

Remember The Hobbit movie? 😉 Yes, it’s been greenlit, Peter Jackson is sitting in the director’s chair (thank bloody goodness! I was worried there for a while…) and Martin Freeman will be brining a younger, funnier Bilbo Baggins to life. Don’t know who Martin is? He played the role of Arthur Dent in the big-screen adaptation of The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (entertaining but nothing, absolutely nothing, against the novels). Anyway, shooting will begin in February, and it won’t be shot in New Zealand, apparently, even though union bosses have okayed it (not worried about this at all, though some New Zealanders may be pissed). I’m really looking forward to this movie! I know how those trolls got turned into stone (seen in a scene from Fellowship of the Ring) but it would be awesome to see it, and Smaug is sure to be breathtaking. 🙂

Next up, The Hulk may be getting another TV show; not sure how I feel about this yet. I loved (yes, I’ll admit that) both movies but I’m part of a minority – if it broke twice, don’t fix it, it’s a lost cause. Unfortunately. 😦 I guess it’ll all turn on whether Mark Ruffalo can give us a good Bruce Banner / The Hulk in the upcoming Avengers movie….

Next up, orgasm with me over his, won’t you:

Aiyaiyai… I feel like an absolute tit for not having finished Reaper’s Gale yet… 😦

Next up, join me in congratulating Alex J Cavanaugh on his Release Week! His first novel, CassaStar (coming up for a review soon) is officially available! Here’s the book trailer for you:

Sincerely, congratilations, Alex! 🙂 May this be the first of many, many novels and the start of a long, incredibly successful career! 🙂

Now, here’s some covers for you – new covers from the awesome dudes a Angry Robot:













(I’ve got a review-blurb in Soul Stealers, wOOt!)


Wanna order any of these? Check out the Amazon US Angry Robot search-page and the Amazon UK search-page; if readers in South Africa would like to get their hands on any of these novels (some of which haven’t yet been published, remember that, go to Exclusive Books and tell them to order from Ingrams). You can also listen to audio excerpts of the following novels through these links: Matt Forbeck’s Amortals, Andy Remic’s Kell’s Legend & Soul Stealers.

And last, but not least, a poll:

Pat of Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist (one of the blogs that served as an example to start this blog) received a copy of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson’s 13th Wheel of Time novel (which means second-last), Towers of Midnight, and posted his semi-review / thoughts; he’s not yet finished with the book, though, and will post a full review upon the novel’s release date. In answer to his post, a blogger that I have much respect for, Amanda Rutter, wrote this post in answer to Pat’s semi-review; I’m asking you this – if a novel is embargoed, does it mean that *no* reviews, at all, should be allowed prior to publication? Or does it really, truly matter? If you want some more background to this discussion, check out this post from Mark Newton, too. And here’s a poll for you:

There we go! Hope you all have an incredible weekend! Don’t forget, I’m running a South Africa-only giveaway of Rowena Cory Daniels’ The King’s Bastard, ending on the 14th of November with the winner announced on the 15th. 🙂

Be EPIC!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in Announcements

 

7 responses to “SFF News of the past week

  1. AlexJCavanaugh

    October 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Thanks for the mention, Dave! I look forward to your review.

    And Hollywood Spy talked about The Crow remake this week. That is criminal. The original is brilliant, an incredible tribute to Lee, and the essence cannot be captured in a remake.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      October 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

      Pleasure, Alex! 🙂 Yep, I hope the movie never gets made – leave The Crow alone!

       
  2. Sarah

    October 23, 2010 at 3:17 am

    I LOVE the cover for The Crippled God. I can’t wait for that book to come out!!

     
  3. Bookstooge

    October 23, 2010 at 4:28 am

    Sadly, I have found Pat to be a complete dink on the few occasions that I went over to his blog, so I stopped reading his reviews, and hence don’t really care WHAT he does 🙂

    I never buy books new anyway, so I wait to read reviews until I actually am thinking of something…

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      October 23, 2010 at 9:18 am

      Say what you want of Pat but he does uphold our love of SFF by doing all that he does. 🙂 I have to add, though, that it seems as if he doesn’t try to really interact with the people who visit his blog (I’ve never received a reply from him), but then I think about the amount of hits he gets and the amount of comments and I understand it. But you’re completely right – if you don’t respect the reviewer’s views, don’t read his reviews!

       

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

