RSS

Review: The Index – Book 1: Mages by Katherine Gilraine

13 Oct

I’ve had this book (an electronic copy) for a lonnng time. Katherine got on my case and I started reading it, but struggled my absolute ass off with the book. And not for the reasons you might think.

Mages follows a group of extremely powerful beings, Mages trapped on Earth with a High Mage who has been the cause of much anarchy, destruction and death throughout the universe.

Mages was an interesting book – the characters, and there are many, are all vivid and easy to keep track of and remember. The High Mage sometimes fell into stereotypical ways of talking and thinking but his ambiguous nature made him memorable and interesting. Some of the other main characters, the High Mage’s children, for example, were different enough that they complemented each other and were made believeable as siblings; also, the High Mage’s main adversary was a powerful, confident and humourless woman, qualities that made her easy to follow and trust.

The magic system in Mages is also interesting – the Mages have aura’s which give them their power and each Mage has different auras and different powers. They’re also able to sense auras, so they know what kind of Mage they’re dealing with. There was only one thing that I had a problem with – the Mages seem too powerful and use their powers too openly.

Now, I would tell you about the wa Katherine plotted this novel, what I liked and didn’t like, but I can’t. You see, when I converted the PDF that Katherine had sent me to a format that I could read on my Blackberry’s MobiPocket App, the conversion totally removed every single quotation mark present in the text. 😦

As a consequence, I was having to constantly re-read every single page of the novel, just to get an idea of what the characters were doing, etc. At first I thought, honestly, that Katherine hadn’t included quotation marks in the text with the dialogue, but I checked the original PDF and it definitely has quotation marks. But because of the problem (dumb bloody phone, or App, or whatever the cause was) I just couldn’t really get into the novel – I can’t tell you what the novel is actually about, or analyse the plot in any way.

I must add that this wasn’t a fault of the novel or Katherine – it’s a problem with either my phone or the program I use to convert to a format that I can read on my phone.

So what am I going to do? Well, I feel that I do need a break from the frustration of trying to figure out what’s dialogue and what’s not, so I’m going to put aside the novel for now. It’s an interesting novel, with a cool magic system and interesting characters and I will get back to it once the problems with reading on my phone are sorted out.

For the promise this novel has shown from the little I did coherently understand I’ll give it a 7,5 / 10, a score which may well increase once I can read the novel as it was meant to be read. 🙂

If you’d like to find out more about Katherine and her work, check out her website here; to order Mages, click here for Amazon US and here for Amazon UK. Check out the links above for links to her second novel – Book 2: Secrets.

Be EPIC!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Index – Book 1: Mages by Katherine Gilraine

  1. Sarah

    October 13, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    well, 7.5/10 is promising considering you didn’t know what was dialogue and what wasn’t. I may have to pick this up now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
