RSS

The Random House Struik Get Smarter Short Course in Creative Writing

23 Aug

Hey Guys and Girls, I thought that I would let you know about the excellent course again, considering that I took the course earlier this year and was very, very impressed and happy that I took part. 🙂

The course is for anyone and everyone who has thought about being a writer, or anyone who has tried their hand at writing. 🙂 I’ve been writing for about 8 years now, and when I began all I wanted to do was write the stuff that was in my head; I tried my hand at writing fan-fiction for Tomb Raider, Highlander, even Star Wars. About 6 years ago I started writing a South African-set Urban Fantasy and stopped after about 40000 words because I had no idea how the tale continued. lately I’ve been busy with an Epic Fantasy project that has gone through many iterations over the years. I finished a couple of short stories, but not much else.

And then early this year I heard about the Random House course, from a good friend (and now fellow writer). I was impressed that the course was being presented by Random House Struik and Ron Irwin (Ron got in touch with me after I reviewed Lauren Beukes’ Moxyland, and I’d also read House of War by Hamilton Wende, one of Ron’s clients), and to be honest, if anyone other than Ron was attached to the course I probably wouldn’t have taken it.

But I did (after taking out a loan from the bank – I just didn’t have the money), and after 10 weeks I not only learned an absolute shitload about writing but I became more focused on my writing. Now I’m sitting at 51400 words (almost half-way) and I know for a fact that I really do want to write for the rest of my life.

You see, the course is excellent for the following the reasons:

1) Ron knows what he’s doing: he studied under an absolute giant of South African fiction, J.M. Coetzee; he’s been working in the publishing industry long enough to know everyone, everywhere (he’s good mates with the guys behind Angry Robot, too) and he’s in the game to help writers become the best bloody writers they can be.

2) During this course you’ll learn about POV, introducing and handling conflict, what you need to keep in mind to create awesome characters, how to keep the pacing of your story up, the fact that you’re telling a story and not reporting a story, etc

3) Your work is also critiqued by fellow students and Ron himself (one of the most awesome aspects of the course, since learning how to take critique is too important to ever overlook);

4) Get Smarter has an incredible team of people ready to help you with anything – you see, this is an online course, so there’s no catching taxis or getting stuck in traffic or paying for a hotel, etc.

This course is probably the best thing I’ve done, and has laid the foundation for all the bestsellers I’ll ever write. 🙂 If you’re serious about writing, or even if you’re only dabbling, you could do much, much worse than take this course. 🙂

Head on over to the Get Smarter website for more detailed info. 🙂

Be EPIC!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Announcements

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

