RSS

TBR-Piles and Reviews – the Great Struggle

17 Aug

So, here’s the thing – there are books on my reading pile that I haven’t had a chance to read since I started this blog, over two years ago.

I haven’t even tried counting, but I don’t think that I’ll be inflating the number any if I say that I’ve probably got close to 200 books that I have to read, received either from the awesome publishers here in SA (being the only SFF-review blog in the country has its perks, let me tell you) or from publishers in the US and UK or from authors, published by the big, recognized imprints or independently published.

And every time I look at the TBR pile I feel guilty, because it’s becoming more and more difficult to choose objectively – I mean, do I read what I really want to read (which is, in most cases, a book I’ve been waiting for months on years to read) or what I have to read (so that I don’t alienate authors and publishers)?

Another thing that has influenced the TBR-pile is the fact that I’m writing my first novel, too; sometimes, it just makes more sense to me to write more words than to read more words.

The only thing that makes me feel better is this: I’m not the only reviewer who has this problem. 🙂

So, to try and at least get some coverage going for the novels I’ve said I would read but haven’t yet gotten to, I’ve decided that I’m going to start a new feature on the blog. I don’t have a name for the feature yet (hell, maybe it doesn’t even really need a name) but what I’ll be doing is spotlighting books that I haven’t yet gotten to – initially they’ll be books by independently published authors (that’s just fair, don’t you think?) and then the feature will spotlight the others books that I’ve got coming up.

I’ll kick this off tomorrow and will include links to the author’s websites, links to where the books can be ordered, blurbs so that you have an idea what the book is about, and cover art.

So, tomorrow I’ll kick off the feature; it’ll probably be a pretty regular feature, with more than one post a week (so that takes care of content for the blog, too), and I thought I’d mention this, too – I haven’t been asked to do this, and the authors of the books I’ll be spotlighting don’t know I’ll be doing this (I won’t be sending them emails to let them know). This is about me being as fair as possible to the people who have spent money to get their books to me – if I can’t give you a review ASAP then at least you’ll still get coverage on the blog. So, this is for me and the readers of the blog, not to stroke any egos or to redeem myself in the eyes of publishers. Just thought I’d make that clear. 🙂

Anyway, until tomorrow,

Be EPIC!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2010 in Announcements

 

6 responses to “TBR-Piles and Reviews – the Great Struggle

  1. Liz

    August 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Hi Dave – awesome idea and I wholly approve. My TBR pile is now no longer a pile, it’s more like three bookcases. It is a dilemma BUT it is a fantastic dilemma to have. I find choosing a book to read is growing more difficult too – but you know what I do try and do is make sure I have a spread of publishers on the blog each month. Even if it’s not the newest book they’ve sent me, I do try and get books read by at least three of the major publishers I receive books from a week. Because I review a lot of kids and YA books too, this makes life a bit easier still, believe it or not.

    I look forward to your new feature and may nab it myself. 🙂

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      August 17, 2010 at 7:27 pm

      Thanks Liz. 🙂 Nab away – we are, after all, in the business of promoting books to get more people reading, so the more the merrier! 🙂

       
  2. Bryce (seak)

    August 17, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    That’s a really good idea. It’s such a tough problem because I have tons of books I want to read that I’ve had laying around for years and then I get review books and I feel guilty reading other books. But then I think, we’ll I’m not giving this review book a good enough shot when I really want to read this other book.

    Argh, it’s such a tough life. 😀

     
  3. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    August 17, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    @Bryce I know! And then I feel guilty, too, about reading the books I buy… I haven’t read a book I actually spent money on in almost a year! 😦

     
  4. ediFanoB

    August 19, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    You are definitely not alone :-))
    I don’t know the exact number but I have around 160 unread books! And most of them I bought on my own.
    I remember when I contributed Only The Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy I spent a part of my weekly roundup for what I called “shelf discoveries”.
    Anyway it is a good idea and I look forward to the books you will present us.
    Even it could lead to more books for me 🙂

    ENJOY READING!

     
  5. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    August 20, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Thanks, Edi, I’m glad to know I’m not the only reviewer who has such a large amount of books to work through. 🙂 I’ve already spotlighted the first book, here’s the link: https://davebrendon.wordpress.com/2010/08/18/havent-read-it-yet-resonance-by-aj-scudiere/

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

You are most welcome, GEIST.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

