RSS

So, my Google Reader is working again…

19 Jul

… and hell, what a catch-up! For about two weeks I just couldn’t get into Google Reader to check out the daily stuff from all the blogs I follow, but this morning everything was fine again, and I had over a thousand posts to look through; thank goodness today is my day off from work, huh? πŸ™‚

Anyway, here’s a run-down of some of the most interesting stuff I saw:

Aidan (A Dribble of Ink): The ‘A Game of Thrones’ RTS / RPG, Genesis, has been officially announced and, from the info Aidan has provided, it sounds really cool! There’ll probably even be some room to play the game so that you control the outcome – maybe Ned Stark won’t have to go to King’s Landing when you tackle the game, huh? πŸ˜‰

Also, Aidan has posted the cover art for the following:

The eBook cover for the tenth book in the Wheel of Time, Crossroads of Twilight (a very simple yet arresting image, I dig it!),

The UK cover for Joe Abercrombie’s next novel, The Heroes (very much along the same lines that were used to create the covers for his previous novels, and that’s a good thing in my opinion),

and the Limited Edition cover for China Mieville’s Kraken (don’t know if I like it, puts me too much in mind of a certain Jules Verne adventure, but that’s just me).

Aidan also posted his review of Mark Newton’s City of Ruin – hope you’ve read it and enjoyed it as much as we did! Mark has got some awesome stuff planned for the next book! πŸ™‚

Angry Robot Books: The cover art for Aliette de Bodard’s second novel (and sequel to the excellent Servant of the Underworld) has been unveiled, and it’s pretty damn cool. πŸ™‚ The cover was designed by Gav Krasner (which leads me to believe that all the Gav’s out there should, in some way, be involved in SFF). πŸ™‚

Also, the first Angry Robot Podcast is up! I listened to it twice this morning and it’s great to hear Marco and Lee’s voices, finally. πŸ™‚ They talk about all things Angry Robot and also tackle eBooks and SFF sections in bookshops, along with much more! You can also enter a competition to win a limited edition hardcover copy of Lauren Beukes’ excellent Zoo City!

Phil Athans will be joining John as a regular columnist at the blog (with Phil’s first post hitting the blogosphere today), and I’m really pleased!

This next link has got to be the funniest post I’ve seen yet – but I do feel for Karen! Keep at it and you’ll knock those deadlines flat! πŸ™‚

Gav (NextRead) has returned from his trip to the States – check out the pic of the hamburger and then you’ll also be craving (I’m stuffing my face after this post!). πŸ™‚

Patrick Rothfuss has posted his ComicCon schedule and has revealed the cover of the latest addition to his family. πŸ™‚ (By the way, if you haven’t yet heard, The Wise Man’s Fear should be hitting the shelves in March next year!)

Mark Chitty (Walker of Worlds) has been blogging for 3 years now! Let’s help him celebrate! And keep it coming, Mark! πŸ™‚ If you want the best SFF blog out there, Mark’s is it, no doubt about that!

Orbit has announced the schedule for their authors at ComicCon (man, I would absolutely love to go, but then I couldn’t eat or do much of anything else for the next four years because I wouldn’t have the money!).

Amanda (from Floor to Ceiling Books) asks how she should be punished for breaking her Book-Buying Embargo – I don’t think she should be punished at all, though! Hell, the more books that sell, the more books our favourite authors can write, right? πŸ™‚ Round of applause for her – some really cool purchases! πŸ™‚

Sad news from Paul Kemp (but understandable: he just writes them, after all): his much-anticipated The Old Republic tie-in novel, Deceived, has been moved from a December release-date to March 2011. The reasoning behind the move is sound, but I can’t help wondering why the decision wasn’t taken much earlier – Deceived is, after all, a tie-in novel to BioWare’s The Old Republic game… Ah well, we’ll just have to be a bit more patient! πŸ™‚

There we go!

Be EPIC!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2010 in Blog-Love

 

8 responses to “So, my Google Reader is working again…

  1. AlexJ

    July 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Haven’t moved to a Google Reader yet – still using my Dashboard. And yes, I saw that Mark’s site is now three years old!

     
  2. Aliette de Bodard

    July 19, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    It’s a great cover. Thanks for displaying it again, it makes me want to hold the book in my hands all over again πŸ˜‰

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Pleasure! I’m really looking forward to this, and love the title – conjures all sorts of cool, hectic imagery in my mind. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting again, Aliette! πŸ™‚

       
  3. Bookstooge

    July 20, 2010 at 12:22 am

    So I was dead fucking wrong. That caused a lot of grief.
    from Rothfuss’s blog.

    his comments section is closed. And a good thing. When Name of the Wind came out, we were told, by Rothfuss, that the whole trilogy was already inked out, just needed editing, so it would be a snap to do a book a year.

    and here it is 3 years later. I have nothing to good to say about Rothfuss, so I’ll just say that I’ll not be reading his books, nor buying them, nor promoting them and I will be giving all the negative attention to them I can. He lied, blatantly, to our faces and expects us to just forget about it. I say “screw you Rothfuss!”

    thankyou for listening to this Rant-a-thon…

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 20, 2010 at 11:13 am

      Aw man. 😦 That’s not cool at all… I almost can’t believe it’s still not done! Bloody hell… (Thanks for clearing that up, though; feel like a tit for not checking my facts, though…)

       
  4. Sarah

    July 20, 2010 at 5:51 am

    Wow, great update on the web-happenings. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
