John Jarrold’s Corner: New 3-Book Deal for Rowena Cory Daniels

14 Jul

Hey everyone, some great news from John Jarrold! Here are the details:



Jonathan Oliver, commissioning editor of Solaris Books, has concluded a three-book deal with Australian fantasy writer Rowena Cory Daniells. The agent is John Jarrold, and the deal is for world rights. The books are due for publication in 2012.

Solaris have just published the first volume of Daniells’ KING ROLEN’S KIN trilogy, THE KING’S BASTARD successfully in July 2010, with the second and third volumes following in August and September this year.

The new series is called THE FIRST T’EN and follows the fate of a tribe of dispossessed mystics, the T’Enatuath.

Rowena Cory Daniells first became involved in speculative fiction in 1976. Since then she has run a bookshop, then a graphic art studio where she illustrated children’s books, had 6 children in 10 years, sold nearly 30 children’s books and an earlier fantasy trilogy internationally, established R&D Studios and served on the management committees of state and national arts organisations. She lives by the bay in Brisbane with her husband and children, and has a Masters in Arts (Research).


This is great news! I’m looking forward to getting started with Rowena’s work – the first book in her first trilogy, The King’s Bastard, will be hitting the shelves here in SA in September! 🙂

(Nicked this from Rowena’s site – couldn’t find a jpeg of The Usurper)

Congrats to Rowena, Jonathan and John! 🙂



Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “John Jarrold’s Corner: New 3-Book Deal for Rowena Cory Daniels

  1. Sarah

    July 15, 2010 at 12:49 am

    I’m really anxious to read “The King’s Bastard.” The premise of the book looks really engaging. I really like it when publishers release an entire trilogy back-to-back like they are doing for this one (july, august, september). I’d put off reading this series for quite a while otherwise.

    Thanks for the newsflash 🙂

    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      Same, I’m really looking forward to it, and her new series sounds intriguing, too!

  2. gus

    September 6, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    I would like to know when the fourth book will be available. Thanks

    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      September 7, 2010 at 7:07 am

      Hey Gus, thanks for visiting the blog! 🙂 As far as I know, each series is a trilogy so there is no fourth book. I’m sure Rowena will keep us up to date if that changes, though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: