RSS

Meme with Relish!

09 Jul

I saw this over at Amanda’s Floor to Ceiling Books and thought I’d join in the fun. I have to agree with Amanda – this could definitely lead to some awesome book-discussions. 🙂 Hope this meme get’s you talking!

(By the way, Amanda saw the Meme over at Un:Bound)

1) One Book that Changed Your Life

Sheesh, hectic question, this! Thinking about it, though, there’s only one book that has really, truly led to my life changing – Stephen King’s Pet Sematary. I read it when I was nine (had the obligatory week-long nightmare, yes) and this book, more than any other, has led me into my love of SFF and, consequently, to writing. (read more about my writing endeavours here)

2) One Book You Have to Read More Than Once

Hmmm, this would probably have to 2 books that I re-read at least every two years: Necroville by Ian McDonald (fucking awesome) and Star Wars The New Jedi Order Traitor by Matthew Stover (one of the most layered and dark Star Wars novels out there, sublime).

3) One Book You’d Want on a Desert Island

At the moment I’ll have to go with Justin Cronin’s The Passage. Yep, it’s that good! (and bloody thick, too, so long enough to keep me busy)

4) Two Books That Made You Laugh

Without a doubt, one of them would be Philip Palmer’s Debatable Space – awesomely funny as well as a sprawling space-opera laced with excellent science! Second book? Hmmm… Sure, I laughed reading The Colour of Magic but that’s a given. Okay, yep, second book would have to be Tome of the Undergates by Sam Sykes; not only is it awesomely funny, too, but it’s a deep, deep book and an epic adventure. 🙂

5) One Book That Made You Cry

Another difficult one, this, since I didn’t cry my eyes out but the scene did bring tears to my eyes: Memories of Ice by Steven Erikson – yes, the scene where an awesome Bridgeburner is cut down by the immortal bastard. 😦

6) One Book You Wish You’d Written

Man, there’s absolutely no doubt for me here – Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson; it kicked off one of the most intense, debated, infuriating and epic series’ in the history of Epic Fantasy and also set’s the author up for the mother of all fails, should The Crippled God bomb – that’s the kind of pressure that would probably kill me, but hey!

7) One Book You Wish You’d NEVER Written

Another difficult one, this; I’ll seriously have to get back to you…

8) Two Books You Are Currently Reading

Will focus on a small-press book -Nyphron Rising by Michael J Sullivan (very good so far, more measured and thoughtful than the previous books) and Allison Brennan’s Original Sin – huge fun! 🙂

9) One Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read

Yes, I know, I know…

That’s me! 🙂 I hope to see this meme spread far and wide, so have fun! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2010 in Meme

 

8 responses to “Meme with Relish!

  1. Derrick

    July 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    MoI, man, that WAS a sad book. I remember when it really hit me how long the Imass had been at it and how hopeless everything was for them.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 9, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      Yep, Steven is a master at walloping the reader with heavy emotion and realization… Hectic stuff!

       
  2. Sarah

    July 9, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one that “Memories of Ice” made cry. Man, that one still sticks with me.

    I think I might steal this for my own blog. 🙂

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 9, 2010 at 11:39 pm

      Hey Sarah, I think I’ll remember ol’ Whiskeyjack until the day I die. 🙂 Feel free, the more the merrier! 🙂 And thanks for the visit!

       
  3. Lood

    July 10, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Awesome!

    Another great thing about having The Passage with you on a desert island is that should you find that the Man in Black is making life difficult for you on your island, the sheer size of the novel will make it an acceptable weapon.

    I’ll pop this over to my blog as well. Let’s see what I can come up with!

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 10, 2010 at 11:09 am

      Hehehe yeah I’d like to see the Man in Black try and do anything to me while I’m swinging The Passage at him! 🙂 Cool, looking forward to your answers!

       
  4. murf61

    July 12, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Ha ha! I did this meme too and also picked The Blade Itself as the ‘One book I have been meaning to read’! http://speculativebookreview.blogspot.com/2010/07/meme-with-relish-all-about-books.html

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      July 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      I even emailed Joe once for an interview, but he was busy with Best Served Cold at the time – it’s just as well, huh? 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

