RSS

Penguin Books SA: July’s SFF Titles

06 Jul

Hey Guys and Girls, as promised! 🙂

I’ve got a list for you – some of the highlights from Penguin Books SA’s SFF novels that’ll be hitting the shelves this month (in fact, many of them arrived at the store I work at today). Click the author-names to visit their websites and the title-links for more info on the books.

First up, the eagerly awaited paperback edition of Karen Miller‘s The Prodigal Mage; I’ll be finishing Karen’s Godspeaker series before I get to these (chalk that up to having Empress before I had The Innocent Mage) but I’m looking forward to these!

The first two books, The Innocent Mage and The Awakened Mage, have also been re-released as a slightly bigger paperback, now updated to include the rest of Karen’s books (except the Star Wars novels, of course – these aren’t published by Orbit).

Another title I’m looking forward to is Lord of the Changing Winds by Rachel Neumeier:

One of the titles I’ve got an incredibly good feeling about (not only in terms of content but also in terms of sales) is Feed by Mira Grant (Seanan McGuire):

Another author that I really need to get into is KJ Parker – her new novel, The Folding Knife, is available this month:

Next up, an author who’s really beginning to get herself quite a following here in SA (if the customers I’ve seen are any indication); Majorie M Liu‘s Darkness Calls:

Then we’ve got Pandaemonium from Christopher Brookmyer:

Next up, some horror for those who like themselves terrified (as I do, so I’m hoping to look into this and the author’s previous novels): The Unseen by Alexandra Sokoloff:

Then we’ve got Kevin J Anderson‘s second Terra Incognita novel, The Map of All Things; absolutely beautiful trade paperback, wouldn’t mind having this and Book 1, The Edge of the World, on my shelf!

Next up, something I’d love to sink into: The Massive Book of Apocalyptic SF, edited by Mike Ashley; wish I could show you the awesome cover but I could only find a 9kb image, not nearly big enough! Here’s the not-as-cool pic that Fantastic Fiction have got:

Also, the paperback edition of Sarah MossCold Earth – I’ve got a copy, just need to get to it; love the idea behind this book, paint me intrigued!

And here’s a very interesting book – I read the blurb on the back today and wanted to start reading right away – need to finish a couple of books before I get to it, though! Michael Ridpath‘s Where Shadow’s Lie; just follow the link to read the blurb and I’m sure you’ll agree! (Could only find a tiny jpeg for the cover)

For those of you looking for new paranormal romance-novels to get into, here’s what you can look forward to:

Lover Eternal by JR Ward:

Dance with the Devil & Night Embrace, both by Sherrilyn Kenyon:

Also arriving will be Keri Arthur‘s Moon Sworn:

and finally, MaryJanice Davidson‘s Undead and Unwelcome:

For the Young Adults out there, here’s what you have to look forward to:

The Enemy, by Charlie Higson:
(Couldn’t upload the title for some reason – maybe The Enemy is IT-smart, now!)

A Wizard of Earthsea by legendary Ursula K Le Guin (a new jacket, and it’s terrible (I’m sorry to say), looks like a very cheap job, held it in my hands this afternoon):

and finally, Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Infinity:

There we go, people, plenty of good reading material to look forward to this month! 🙂 Remember to head over to your closest Exclusive Books to get your copies, or to any good bookshop in your area. 🙂

Be EPIC!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 6, 2010 in Announcements

 

One response to “Penguin Books SA: July’s SFF Titles

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

