RSS

What I’m Reading

01 Jul

I don’t have a specific post for you today, so I thought that I would let you all know about what I’m reading at the moment and my thoughts so far. I’m heading towards a major Star Wars-readathon (I have PLENTY to catch up on) but before that I’ll also be reading Brent Weeks’ first series and some Glenda Larke, too, as well as finishing Karen Miller’s Godspeaker series, but that’s what’s coming up later.

Here we go:

The Passage by Justin Cronin

I’m about 200 pages in an it is, for want of a better word, absolutely engrossing and incredible so far. I was in tears as I finished the first chapter and Justin has managed to hook me, continuously, since. This novel (and hopefully, the entire trilogy) is going to set the bar massively high.

Original Sin by Allison Brennan

This is a book that’s definitely growing on me – I’m only about 60 pages in but the book is fun, fast, and just what I need to satisfy my Supernatural-less fix. I like the attention to detail in this one – there aren’t just incantations during rituals and the main character, Moira, is sassy and determined. 🙂

Nyprhon Rising by Michael J Sullivan

This book is a bit slower than the first two in the series (The Riyria Revelations) but it works – I’ve got the feeling that a lot is being set up in this book for the next couple of volumes, and it’s great to witness the characters being a little bit more in control – it’s still greatly entertaining and Michael is definitely becoming an even better writer with each book. 🙂 I’ll also have something extra (and cool, hopefully) for you all with the review!

Wymeweald: Returner’s Wealth by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

I’m enjoying the descriptions so far, and that’s about it, unfortunately. 😦 The books is coming across as a bit flat to me, a bit soulless. There are already some things that I’m struggling to understand, and after 70 pages I still don’t know why the main character, Micah, is where he is and is doing what he’s doing – a no-no in my book. I will persevere, though. 🙂

Once I’m done with these I’ll be reading some more indie books – Katharine Gilraine’s The Index and I’ll finally be finishing Corey Cotta’s All of Yesterday’s Tomorrows. 🙂 Oh, and the next Angry Robot novel I’ll be tackling will be Chris Roberson’s Book of Secrets!

Be EPIC!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in Announcements

 

3 responses to “What I’m Reading

  1. AlexJ

    July 1, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    I’ve two of Timothy Zahn’s Star Wars books waiting for me.

     
  2. Kerry

    July 2, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I’ve just started the Passage as well – loving it so far! I’m also hoping to read Book of Secrets soon. Just finished Sixty-One Nails, another Angry Robot book, and loved it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

