RSS

Guest Movie Review: Splice – reviewed by ediFanoB

07 Jun

This post was a pure case of serendipity. 🙂

I was contacted last week by Ali Cutting from Formula PR Inc; Ali sent me an interesting link, an article over at Hollywood.com that focused on Cinema’s Worst Five Experiments in Science Fiction. With the new SF movie, Splice, doing the rounds, it would indeed be interesting to see if it turned out as one of those ‘worst’ experiments.

So I checked out some info about the movie and found some really interesting articles; I just had a slight problem – I couldn’t exactly do a post about a movie I hadn’t watched, and when I saw ediFanoB say on Twitter that he had just watched Splice, and immedietley asked him if he would mind doing a guest review. That way, you’d at least get a review of Splice from a blogger we all like and trust, and I’d be able to include the links I had found, all of which I’ll give you after ediFanoB’s review of the movie.

Let’s get into ediFanoB’s review of Splice:



Hi I’m ediFanoB from Edi’s Book Lighthouse. Normally I review books, especially fantasy books.

But sometimes I surprise myself. I watched SPLICE (details follow) in the cinema and Dave asked me if I would like to write a guest movie-review. I’m open-minded but always short of time. Anyway this my review of SPLICE (2009), directed by Vincenzo Natali, produced by Steve Hoban and Guillermo Del Toro, starring Adrien Brody, Sarah Polley, Delphine Chanéac [Source].
IMDb plot summary:

“Elsa and Clive, two young rebellious scientists, defy legal and ethical boundaries and forge ahead with a dangerous experiment: splicing together human and animal DNA to create a new organism. Named “Dren”, the creature rapidly develops from a deformed female infant into a beautiful but dangerous winged human-chimera, who forges a bond with both of her creators – only to have that bond turn deadly”
SPLICE is tagged as a science fiction horror movie. Science fiction? I’m far beyond to be sure about that. Nobody knows what is going on the laboratories of the world….”

But it is much more than a simple science fiction horror movie. It is a story about responsibility, parenthood, trust, abuse, emotions, control and profit. It is also a movie which deserved to be longer in order to give more space for all the different layers of the story.

It is a movie which gives the thoughtfulness partially away in order to satisfy horror fans with a bloody and partially abstruse final.
It is definitely no movie for plain joy and entertainment because SPLICE forces you to THINK. To think about your own ethical values. To think about your responsibility.

The actors – Adrien Brody as Clive and Sarah Polley as Elsa – did a great job. You believe them, everything from their self-conception as brilliant scientists over their self-reflection about responsibility to their behavior as “parents”. Absolutely brilliant.

But there is one more, the secret star of the movie, Delphine Chanéac, who plays the creature, Dren. Of course Dren haves been created by using CGI. And the result is awesome. But director Nataly made a wise decision. Gestures and facial expressions are performed by Delphine Chanéac. And what an actor she is!! She gives Dren so much humanity, which express the atrocious moments the more.

Splice is a movie for people who want to get to know how nerds in a laboratory cope with responsibility, parenthood, trust, abuse, emotions, control and profit. And it is a movie which force you to think about the question: SHALL WE PLAY “GOD”?

In order to answer the question for you, you should definitely visit the official SPLICE site and “play” around with the Creature Creator.

Sounds like an interesting movie, something I’m definitely going to watch if it reaches our shores (now word on that yet)!

Here are the links I came across:

The movie’s page over at Hollywood.com;

Questioning whether audiences are ready for Splice;

And stills from the movie.

So, are you going to watch Splice or have you already seen it? Could this be one of the better SF movies to come out of Hollywood?

Only time will tell. 🙂

Thanks to ediFanoB for the guest-review!

Be EPIC!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2010 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Guest Movie Review: Splice – reviewed by ediFanoB

  1. ediFanoB

    June 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Dave, thank you for asking me. I was a pleasure. Once again I would like to say that it really depends on your point of view whether you like the movie or not. Even with the “bloody” end (a tribute to the horror fans) it was a thoughtful movie.

    I look forward to read comments….

     
  2. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    June 7, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Thanks again for taking the time to write the review. 🙂 I for one am definitely going to keep an eye out for this movie – after your review I’m even more intrigued than I was! 🙂 Thanks edi!

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

