RSS

Press Release: Announcing ‘Thrall’ from Seventh Star Press

17 May

Great news from the publishers who brought us Stephen Zimmer‘s The Rising Dawn Saga and the Fires in Eden series:

::

For Immediate Release
May 6, 2010

Seventh Star Press Announces New Steven L. Shrewsbury Novel

Seventh Star Press is proud to announce the addition of Fantasy/Horror writer Steven L. Shrewsbury to its family of authors, with the forthcoming release of the dark-edged fantasy novel Thrall.

Thrall tells the tale of Gorias La Gaul, an aging warrior who is thrust into a maelstrom involving warring factions, demonic forces from his past, and a grandson who is in the shadow of necromancy. Set in an antediluvian world, around the mythical city of Khabnur, Thrall brings to life a tale of adventure, adversity, and courage. From Nephilums to undead dragons, the world revealed in Thrall is as dangerous and unpredictable as much as it delivers resoundingly to those who love well-crafted, hard hitting fantasy in the vein of Robert E. Howard and David Gemmell.

Shrewsbury is no stranger to fantasy and horror fans, with a great number of novels and short stories published. Some of his recent, well-received works include the novels Tormentor (Lachesis Publishing), Hawg (Graveside Tales) and Stronger Than Death (Snuff Books). He also had a short story recently published in the anthology Harlan County Horrors (Apex Publications).

Amanda DeBord, editor-in-chief at Seventh Star Press, commented on the acquisition of Thrall: “I’m so excited to add Steven Shrewsbury to the Seventh Star label. Steven’s a prolific writer, and he’s got a ton of fans already, but I hope we’re able to introduce him to some new readers. From the first few paragraphs of Thrall, I knew the story was in very capable hands. Gorias, the main character, is the fantasy-lovers’ John Wayne,
though with a harder edge. All of the characters are real and engaging, and Shrewsbury tells their story as if he were there to watch it all happen. This is going to be a hit.”

Thrall will reunite Shrewsbury with editor Louise Bohmer, who worked with him on his novel Tormentor (Lachesis Publishing). Bohmer is also a familiar figure in the publishing world, with a host of editing credits spanning novels to short fiction and anthologies. The chemistry and previous history between the author and editor forecasts an outstanding first edition of the book.

“”It’s a pleasure to edit for Steven Shrewsbury. A walk through one of his
novels is a thrilling adventure, often with a breathless pace that makes you feel as if you’ve lived a part of the story with its hero,” said Bohmer, in regards to working with Shrewsbury again.

The book will feature cover art and additional artwork from fantasy artist Matthew Perry, whose illustrations and cover art are featured in both The Rising Dawn Saga and the Fires in Eden series from author Stephen Zimmer
(Seventh Star Press).

The projected release date window for Thrall is October/November of 2010. A special, short-run limited edition hardcover will be offered with a package of collectibles, with trade paperback, hardcover, Kindle, and
eBook editions to follow.

Updates and additional information can be obtained at the official site for Seventh Star Press, at www.seventhstarpress.com , or at the author’s site at www.stevenshrewsbury.com

Sounds like another great book! 🙂 Really looking forward to Thrall, and it’s great to see Seventh Star Press expanding as they are. 🙂

By the way, the next bunch of reviews coming will be, in this order, The Desert Spear, Kell’s Legend, and The Exodus Gate. 🙂

Be EPIC!

P.S. I apologize for the way the post looks – seems that WordPress and Yahoo’s formatting don’t match.

Advertisements
 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2010 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Press Release: Announcing ‘Thrall’ from Seventh Star Press

  1. D

    May 17, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I have just started the Painted/Warded Man and I’m really liking it so far. So I’m looking forward to another review of the Desert Spear…

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: