RSS

SFF: Back on the Blog

03 Jan

As most of you already know, I launched a new blog in October last year and shifted the focus of this blog to my writing endeavours. In retrospect, it seems like a really dumb decision on my part, if only because the new blog (Realms & Galaxies: Celebrating SFF!) didn’t draw any attention and very few hits.

Let me put it this way – in a three month period on the new blog, we got around 2700 visits, which I thought was okay, since it was a new blog. This blog, though, shocked me:

In the same three month period, we got around 35000 visits. In fact, as of this morning, this blog had racked up a total of 100350 visits since I started it! Trust me, I now bemoan the fact that I ever shifted the focus of the blog – imagine how many people visited the blog and promptly left because it wasn’t what they were looking for? πŸ˜›

I do, I’ll admit, have two other reasons -no less important but wayyy cooler;

A quote from my review of Jasper Kent‘s excellent historical fantasy / horror debut, Twelve, has been used for the mass market paperback edition that went on sale yesterday (head’s still spinning, even though Jasper gave me the news early in December),

AND

My name appears in the acknowledgements of a highly-anticipated novel which will be hitting the shelves in March (can’t tell you which one yet, but it’s a biggie!). πŸ™‚

So moving SFF back to this blog seems to be a pretty good idea, and I’m glad that I woke up in time. πŸ™‚ But I do give you all permisson to laugh yourselves silly at my stupidity. πŸ˜‰

And then I s’pose the question that needs answering is: what will happen to Realms & Galaxies?

David Jooste will be taking it over, doing his thing there and changing it as he sees fit, while I’ll be doing my thing here, including updates on my writing. As reviews, interviews and news are posted on both blogs, we’ll link to each other to make sure that you’re all kept in the loop. πŸ™‚

So 2010 will will have two South African SFF blogs – an awesome way to start off the year, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

Be EPIC!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2010 in Announcements, Musings

 

Tags:

7 responses to “SFF: Back on the Blog

  1. hagelrat

    January 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    awesome. Happy New Year.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      January 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      Thanks Adele! πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great entry to 2010! Happy New Year to you and yours too. πŸ™‚

       
  2. Craig Smith

    January 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    I think a good idea too πŸ™‚

     
  3. Dave

    January 3, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Thanks Craig, definitely one of my better decisions. πŸ™‚

     
  4. Mike Southern

    January 3, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Live and learn, my friend. Live and learn.

     
  5. edifanob

    January 3, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I never deleted this blog from my google reader πŸ™‚
    Anyway I think it is a good decision.

     
  6. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    January 4, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Thanks for that, Edi. πŸ™‚ And Mike – very true! πŸ™‚ Hope all is well with you both and that 2010 started off well! πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
