RSS

The What-I’m-Reading Update

13 Jul

Okay, so I have absolutely nothing lined up for today. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still busy reading, though, so I thought I might as well give you all an update on how that’s progressing.

Okay, I’ll start off with the Find of the Month – Paul Hoffman’s The Left hand of God. I’ve tried to find other info about this book, not even Amazon listings, though I have managed to find out (and this is by no means a fact) that apparently Paul works for the BBC as a scriptwriter, and that this book was auctioned and (incredibly) foreign rights for 20 countries were sold overnight. As soon as I’ve got a working camera at hand I’ll post a pic of the cover (since I can’t find that, either), but the book will be coming out 2010 (sometime) from Orbit (as far as I can tell) and it’s going to take the fantasy world by storm. It’s incredible! I can honestly say I haven’t been this excited about a book and a debut author since Peter V Brett’s The Painted Man around this time last year. You will hate me for this, but I’m not going to post a review of this book when I’m done – I will instead post any info that I find, and keep the review on hold for when the book is published. ๐Ÿ™‚

***UPDATE: Thanks to edifanob I have some info you can check out regarding Paul’s excellent debut; in one link you can see the cover, but it’s so small it doesn’t really do it justice. The other link details the announcement of Penguin acquiring world rights. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks edifanob!

Next up, Warhammer and Warhammer 40K: I’m reading Chapter War, Heldenhammer and Dawn of War at the moment, enjoying them all. Chapter War is grim, intense and I’m very, very curious about the Souldrinkers Chapter. ๐Ÿ™‚ Heldenhammer is great; Graham McNeill really knows how to tell a story, and they way he’s telling the tale of Sigmar in this book suits the world Sigmar was made in – it really has that epic, wild feel about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Dawn of War is also damn cool – I finished the first DoW game about 2 weeks before starting to read the book (I’m now practicing to kick some ass in LANs), and not only is the book a great companion to the game (and vice versa) but a great 40K novel. ๐Ÿ™‚

All of Yesterdays Tomorrows by Corey Cotta: I have to say, first up, that this novel has a lot of potential, but that I’m not entirely hooked so far. There’s an aspect of writing -emotion- that seems to be a bit lacking in the story (so far), but I’m hoping that’ll change as I progress through the book. ๐Ÿ™‚

Slights by Kaaron Warren: utterly creepy and brilliant. I’ll leave it at that for the moment. ๐Ÿ™‚

A Darkness Forged in Fire by Chris Evans: I was a bit scared that the book would be peppered with stereotypical characters, but was pleasantly proved wrong. Very cool so far. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Riven Kingdom by Karen Miller: have to be honest and say that I’m struggling to get into this one, but I know it’s because of the marked change between this and book one of Godspeaker, Empress, so that, and the fact that this is Karen Miller I’m reading, promises good things. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Return of the Crimson Guard by Ian Cameron Esslemont: Incredible! I just keep thinking back to the almost-intimate affair that was Night of Knives, Ian has blossomed and become an incredible writer! As I am in awe of Erikson, so I am in awe of Esslemont. And if anyone else touches the Malazan world in any form, they need to get shot; leave it to these two guys. ๐Ÿ™‚

I also got some awesome new books that I will have to work in: (I will still post a pic of my TBR pile, because there’s plenty more than what I’ll list here)

A Shadow in Summer by Daniel Abraham,
Gears of War: Aspho Fields by Karen Traviss,
The Way of Shadows & Shadow’s Edge by Brent Weeks,
Medicine Road by Charles de Lint,
Shadowmarch by Tad Williams,
Cold Earth by Sarah Moss,
Transition by Iain Banks,
Winterstrike by Liz Williams,
Hater by David Moody,

and plenty, plenty more! ๐Ÿ™‚

I might even be putting up another poll soon, tell let you all help me decide what I should be reading, but we’ll see. ๐Ÿ™‚

Be EPIC!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2009 in Musings

 

6 responses to “The What-I’m-Reading Update

  1. edifanob

    July 13, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Dave,
    I tried to find some more information about Paul Hoffmanโ€™s The Left hand of God.
    Here is the result:
    spinebreakers, booktrade.

     
  2. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    July 13, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Thanks for that! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to use the Spinebreakers post but that cover image is so small… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

     
  3. Lood

    July 14, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Dave, why do you do this to us, you tell us about an amazing book, (and if you are this excited…) and then you tell us it will be sometime next year. Thats like telling us beginning January that you’ve bought the most amazing XMas presents but we have to wait… ๐Ÿ˜‰
    *fume*
    But alas, I would have to use my influences, contacts, secret spies, underground gangs and evil minions to find myself a copy.
    And thanx for the heads up, as soon as the book is published, expect something on our webpage… (and if I get my way, maybe a little publicity for the blog as well)
    Be Epic…

     
  4. edifanob

    July 14, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Dave,

    the relation between blogger and reader should be a give and take :>)

     
  5. Kim D

    July 24, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Heya Dave,

    I totally have to agree with Lood. For all we know some of us wont make it to next year. So I guess *sobs* i will have to wait till next year. but prepare for some more sneaky questions about the book.

    oh yeah and i keep trying to picture what you would look like when pulling that sad emoticon face lol.

     
  6. Johan

    August 5, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Reading the book, LOVING it! Thenkfully knowing people helps. Stumbled upon your blog by accident, thought I should say something!
    Enjoying it a lot, though, finding time to read is a bit tedious!

    Cool blog. Will be looking in now and then! I bookmarked it!

    Well, see ya some time…

    Kind regards

    Johan…

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

