RSS

Blog-Love: June!

01 Jun

Well, I’m back! πŸ™‚ Better late than never, I s’pose. πŸ™‚ You see, I was a bit of an idiot – I went to work this morning thinking that I was working day-shift, so that would leave my evening open to get this blog-post up and to watch the second episode of Survivor China (yes, it has just reached South Africa!)… But dear-ol-Dave didn’t check the roster properly; I was actually working the evening shift, so I didn’t have to go in today at all! What ends up happening? I end up working a 12-hour shift, from 9 in the morning till 9 in the evening! 😦 My own stupidity for not checking the roster properly! Anyway, with that out of the way, let’s get into some Blog Love! πŸ™‚

    Authors First:

Paul S Kemp tells us a bit about getting ready to kick off a new DnD campaign,

Brandon Sanderson rounds up his thoughts for us,

David Anthony Durham has the focus of his latest post turned on his cool son πŸ™‚ ,

Karen Traviss, always entertaining and unafraid (which are some of the reasons why she’s some a damn fine writer) turns her attention to a UK-cellphone provider (don’t head there if spicy language like the word ‘shit’ doesn’t sit well with you), πŸ™‚

Pat Rothfuss (you do know that the manuscript of The Wise Man’s Fear has been turned in, don’t you?) is back home after an eventful trip to Europe,

Author of the Year (in my opinion) Peter V Brett has begun a haiku contest on his blog (which I’ll also be trying my hand at entering because damn! those are some awesome prizes!) annnnnd (I point you to this again) announces the movie-deal for The Painted Man / The Warded Man! πŸ™‚

John Marco says goodbye to his blog (yΓ¨, I’m damn sad too) 😦

Jasper Kent offers his thoughts on Star Trek (and if you miss it in the next few days, I’ll also be posting some awesome news regarding his novels soon),

Brian Ruckley (HAVE to make time for The Godless World!!!!) points us to a UK-entrants only giveaway and a new SFF blog,

How does Mark Charon Newton taste?!?! πŸ™‚ (Will have the review of Nights of Villjamur up in a few hours and then look out for the interview!)

Drew Karpyshyn is a busy, busy man, but the final rewrites of Bane Bk 3 Dynasty of Evil are done! πŸ™‚

Steph Swainston reports on ACON 2009,

Philip Palmer punts a seriously bloody book! πŸ™‚

Russell Kirkpatrick, Congrats! πŸ™‚ Head on over here to find out why. πŸ™‚ (Awesome news!)

Jon F Merz has some good news about his eBooks! πŸ™‚

and Suzanne McLeod launches a furry giveaway! πŸ™‚

    Onto my fellow bloggers! πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday to A Dribble of Ink!! πŸ™‚

Bibliophile Stalker has some great Links and Plugs,

Graeme reviews an old favorite from 2000AD (yes, it even made it all the way to SA once),

The Bookgeeks review The Devil’s Paintbrush,

Jay Franco reports on the (I need to get out of SA ’cause I’m missing all these cool Cons!) BEA,

BSC has some great new Transformers Revenge of the Fallen images,

Dark Wolf shows us what he’s ordering next (to read), πŸ™‚

Dragons, Heroes and Wizards reviews Katherine Kerr’s Darkspell (another author I’ve got to start reading some time),

Fantasy Book Critic reviews the first book in Mark Chadbourn’s Age of Misrule series, World’s End (man I love the cover!), and don’t miss their Spotlight on June!

Grasping for the Wind points us at a free audio book (which I’ve already downloaded, too),

Liz and Mark have set up a Summer Reading List (and I wish them all the luck in the world at sticking to it!), πŸ™‚

Nethspace asks 5 questions of (and receives answers from) Kate Griffin (I need more Matthew Swift!!!),

Gav posts his review of the excellent Nights of Villjamur πŸ™‚

The Old Bat’s Belfry has a round-up of all the cool giveaways, πŸ™‚

Pat is giving away a copy of (and this is where I start drooling, haven’t read any new Star Wars in MONTHS!) Karen Traviss’ latest Clone Wars novel, No Prisoners,

SF Crowsnest has a trailer for a cool-looking new movie with Bruce Willis,

Happy Birthday Speculative Fiction Junkie!! πŸ™‚

Suvudu will soon be hosting Peter V Brett and Robert V.S. Redick (can only be an awesome chat!), πŸ™‚

The Book Swede covers Swearing in Fantasy,

Daya has a look at a book I’m itching to get my hands on, πŸ™‚

Adam reviews an Amtrak Wars book (haven’t even read them yet, 😦 ),

Unbound announces its winner of the Winterstrike giveaway! πŸ™‚

and last but not least, another awesome post from Mark for SF books appearing on shelves this month! πŸ™‚

OK, that’s me buggered, stumbling off to bed to wake up again in a little over four hours! Cheers! πŸ™‚

Be EPIC!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2009 in Blog-Love

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Blog-Love: June!

  1. jonfmerz

    June 1, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    Thanks for the pingback, Dave! Much appreciated!

     
  2. Daya

    June 2, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Excellent roundup! Thanks for the blog love!

     
  3. Ben

    June 2, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks for the birthday wishes!

     
  4. Graeme

    June 5, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Why did John Marco stop blogging? I followed the link but by the time I got there the blog had gone… 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
