RSS

Books I’m looking forward to!

16 Apr

Hey guys and girls, thought I’d let you know what I’ve got lined up to read and review for the next few months. πŸ™‚

Got these all through from various publishers in the post, except for one, which the author himself sent me. πŸ™‚

image001

I’ve almost done with Hand of Isis, so as soon as I’m done with that (awesomewonderful) book, I’ll be reading:

(I’m also going to be reading Avempartha, but don’t have the physical book to show you)

Starfinder (John Marco himself signed and sent it to me!) πŸ™‚

Nights of Villjamur (Macmillan)

Patient Zero (Jonathan Ball)

Return of the Crimson Guard (Random House)

The Magician’s Apprentice (Little Brown, Orbit)

Best Served Cold (Jonathan Ball)

The Steel Remains (Jonathan Ball)

Shadow of the Scorpion (Pan Macmillan)

Graceling (Jonathan Ball)

If there’s anything you think I should move up the reading list, drop me a comment. πŸ™‚ Except for Starfinder, Nights of Villjamur and Avempartha, those I’m reading first. πŸ™‚

Be Fantastic!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2009 in Announcements

 

14 responses to “Books I’m looking forward to!

  1. TK42ONE

    April 16, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Some heavy books there. Not sure I could choose just one to push to the top. Maybe Morgan since I’ve never read his work before and I’ve heard good things about it.

     
  2. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    April 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I know what you mean. πŸ™‚ I’ve been waiting for what seems like years to read Morgan and Abercrombie! If no-one else comments, I’ll shift The Steel Remains up. πŸ™‚

     
  3. edifanob

    April 17, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I read and enjoyed The Steel Remains and Best Served Cold. Return Of The Crimson Guard is on my shelf. Before I will read it I would like to read the books of Steven Erikson first. I read a lot of positive comments on Nights of Villjamur and Avempartha.
    My reading list would be: NIGHTS OF VILLJAMUR, BEST SERVED COLD, AVEMPARTHA, THE STEEL REMAINS.

     
  4. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    April 17, 2009 at 10:59 am

    We agree pretty much! πŸ™‚ I’m going to start off with Starfinder and Avempartha (published this month or next month), then Nights of Villjamur, Best Served Cold, The Steel Remains and the rest. πŸ™‚

     
  5. edifanob

    April 17, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I read also some reviews of STARFINDER. But so far I’m not really convinced whether this is a book for me or not. Hopefully you will write a review about it. I look forward.

     
  6. edifanob

    April 17, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Arrgh, just forgot to ask whether you read THE CROWN CONSPIRACY or not. This is the first book of the RIYRIA REVELATIONS series. AVEMPARTHA is the second one.

     
  7. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    April 17, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I’ll definitely be reviewing Starfinder, and I’ll also be doing an interview with John Marco shortly afterwards. πŸ™‚ As for The Crown Conspircay – loved it! Here’s my review: https://davebrendon.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/review-the-crown-conspiracy-michael-j-sullivan/

     
  8. edifanob

    April 17, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Thank you very much for the review link. I read it immediately. And it is another good review of this book. I checked my book list. I added THE CROWN CONSPIRACY to my list in December last year. And this list is very, very long. Unfortunately I lost sight of this book.
    But now I will add it to my to buy list for 2009. That means I have to remove an other book or spend more money than planned. We will see.
    By the way in March I bought the TYRANTS AND KINGS trilogy by John Marco. Unfortunately it rests unread on my shelf like a lot of other books.
    I think I spend too much time in front of a screen then reading books. Need to change it.

     
  9. Dave-Brendon de Burgh

    April 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I completely forgot Patient Zero, I’ll be reading that too. πŸ™‚ The only work of John Marco’s that I’ve read has been The Jackal of Nar, and that was great! Epic Fantasy but tightly focused! It’ll be great to see what he’s done in Starfinder. πŸ™‚ I’m so lucky in that I get most of my books from publishers these days, which also lets me read new authors or work I haven’t thought of reading before, though I do still but when I have enough money. πŸ™‚

     
  10. hagelrat

    April 17, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Cool have fun with that lot.

     
  11. Jono

    April 17, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    What a blog dude. Never thought a blog could look this amazing considering I don’t know much about them anyway. but brilliant work, your creativity surpasses that which I always knew you had. May the Force be with you.

     
  12. Lauren Christie

    April 24, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    OMG!!!! Im so freaking jealous right now! You have all those beautiful books and you have the new trudi canavan =( im crying on the inside. your reveiw better be brilliant! lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
