RSS

The Wheel of Time: My Defense of TOR and The Gathering Storm

06 Apr

So, The Gathering Storm Approaches. After following the epic adventures of the Dragon Reborn for the past seven years (yes, I’m still practically a WOT-newbie) I can’t help but feel utter relief!

When the news broke of Robert Jordan’s death my first thought was complete and utter sadness. Mr Jordan had proved himself to be one of the greatest storytellers that has ever lived, and to lose him was to lose something incredibly precious. I mean, here in South Africa kids are leaving High School at the end of Grade Twelve and can’t even properly spell or read. The libraries in schools are filled with old, dusty volumes, and although there will always be gems there, kids can’t be bothered to look anymore.

Now, they need time for Hannah Montana and High School Musical and PSPs and X-Box’s. Now, it’s more important that you look like you’ve just stepped out of a magazine than accruing the knowledge you need to live happily and successfully. The world is changing, moving away from everything we, as a species, have begun to take for granted, and Robert Jordan was one of those special people who Kept The Forces At Bay with his work.

To step into the Wheel of Time is to step into your own hopes and fears and dreams and experiences, because Robert Jordan wrote in such a way that everyone who’s ever read his work feels a kinship to at least one of the characters; and not only that, the world itself, though completely different to ours, is subtly the very same world we know. Mr Jordan was able (and this will never change, at least until some weird virus or religious cult starts destroying books) to open our eyes to the world around us and its people by taking us into his world.

And so, of course, it was incredibly important that his work be finished. His wife and editor, Harriet, knew this. She knows how important the Wheel of Time is to the world, and I don’t really care if someone thinks that I’m being melodramatic, bugger you if you do, because its true. To say the the Wheel of Time brought people together is an understatement. To say the the Wheel of Time will, as long as memory can keep it so, be one of the biggest and best fantasy works in history is an understatement. And to think that the publishers are in it just to make money is just plain dumb.

Would we have spent less money if A Memory of Light was kept in one volume? Would we have spent more? How does anyone quantify that?

Let’s say it had been kept as one volume – at last glance, Brandon Sanderson has said that A Memory of Light may very well exceed 750 thousand words. How much would such a book cost, just to cover the production costs of getting it into one volume? How many times could you read such a volume before the book literally broke in half? How pissed off would you be that you’ve shelled out x-amount in cash for the conclusion to the Wheel of Time, and it’s breaks in your hands?

And remember, this is a book that all fans, everywhere, will be practically selling kidneys to read. How are Londoners riding the tube going to read such a book? How is anyone going to be able to relax on a bed or on a couch with such a monster in their hands? It’s uncomfortable, point.

So I, for one, am very glad that they’re splitting the final book into three parts. Sure, we won’t be getting it all at once, but does it really matter? This is something to savor and celebrate! Even though Mr Jordan is gone, it’ll still feel like he’s sitting in front of that computer in the carriage house, typing away and getting everything done. Sure, Brandon Sanderson is finishing A Memory of Light, but how many times has he said that it is Robert Jordan’s book? This is Mr Jordan’s vision, a vision we’ve been pulled into and fell in love with and enjoyed, a vision that has, no doubt about it, generated plenty of money for TOR. But do you honestly think that TOR doesn’t give a damn about us fans? I could never agree with that.

And do you honestly think that Harriet would let TOR do what they wanted, anyway? For Harriet it’s not about TOR getting the capstone to an incredible series, it’s not even really about the fans, in my opinion. I think the most important thing for her is that it brings to an end the career of a fantasy legend with love and respect, that it really begins his legacy, and that she will do what she needs to respect the memory of her husband with as much love as possible. Remember, this wasn’t just a man she edited books for. This was her husband, and every decision she ever made was to help him write better and to make the books, including A Memory of Light, the best books that they could be.

Okay, I’ve said my piece. 🙂 But don’t take my word for it – this is, after all, just my opinion. Go ahead and read the posts by Pat and Brandon, and read the interview with Harriet at Dragonmount, and you’ll have the best info you need to decide whether or not A Memory of Light in 3 Parts is the best way to go or not.

Be Fantastic!

the-gathering-storm

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2009 in Musings

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “The Wheel of Time: My Defense of TOR and The Gathering Storm

  1. Purple Butterflies

    April 7, 2009 at 2:04 am

    I tried reading these books when a friend recommended them to me years ago. I read two or three and got tired ever it never ending. But of course I was 19 and like all 19-year-old impatient to have everything life could offer all at once. Perhaps, I should go back and give them another try.

    DW Golden
    Let in a little magic with Purple Butterflies, a new young adult novel now available at Amazon.

     
  2. Polly

    April 26, 2009 at 12:06 am

    Excuse me? Only interested in Hannah Montana and PSP’s? I started reading WoT when I was twelve. I won’t say how long ago that was, but it wasn’t that long ago that I don’t like PSP’s. And WoT is my favourite book series.

     
  3. Amanda

    May 16, 2009 at 1:59 am

    I personally am thrilled that they’re splitting it up. I was so afraid that things were going to be wrapped up too quickly, without the suspense and detail that I loved in the other books. This just gives me even more to look forward to.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      May 20, 2009 at 10:37 am

      I agree, I think it’s the best choice for eveyone involved and I’m sure RJ would have agreed to it too. 🙂

       
  4. MercifulBoss

    June 8, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I hate the suspense…

    And the ending interigues me. If it was in one volume I would skip to the end.

    But, oh well…

     
  5. Becky

    June 25, 2009 at 7:23 am

    I’m so excited for the next book to come out!
    I read them when I was twelve, re reading them now ^^

     
  6. Suddy

    October 14, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    lol! I started reading the Wheel of Time when I was 7, and I’ve been hooked since the first wind blew. I cried like a babe when i heard RJ passed. I’ve been anticipating the ending for quite some time, (im 23 now) so I was a little disappointed at first when they said three more books were going to be released but a part of me … a greater part of me, kinda wants it to last forever.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      October 17, 2009 at 4:03 pm

      I couldn’t agree more! 🙂 The world of the Wheel of Time is just such an incredible world, I wouldn’t mind if it carried on for decades more. 🙂

       
  7. smi

    October 20, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    So does anyone/book stores have the book yet in South Africa? It’s on sale in other parts of the world even though the release date is next week Tuesday.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      October 20, 2009 at 9:32 pm

      Nope, we’re the place that Luke talks about when he says it’s the planet farthest from the bright center of the universe. 🙂 We may get stock in the 2nd or 3rd week of November, though. 🙂

       
  8. Paul Parker

    October 24, 2009 at 4:01 am

    I started reading this series in 1992, and by the time I finish the last sentence I anticipate that I’ll have stretched my reading pleasure over two decades.

    Amusingly it is not my longest read, as I’ve been following the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant much longer, and it hasn’t finished yet either.

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      October 24, 2009 at 6:45 am

      I’ve read The Gap series (in that period between the end of grade school and the beginning of high school) and was blown away -some of the best SF I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading- but I must honestly say that I struggle with Thomas Covenant; will get back into it, though – after all, I can’t be a fantasy-lover without having read Covenant’s saga, now can I? 🙂

       
  9. JAZZ

    November 3, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    hi all, well i care less if it is one book or three books, maybe three are even better as it will take more time to finish so that we can enjoy wot more, i know this is funny and illogical but i say it only becasue i can never find any other books i am enjoying the same… when jordan died i wanted to use the power and revive him, to get my revenge for him leaving:) no actually i think i felt as sad as most of us did. Jordan, rest in peace and thank you for sharing with us your story, we will always love you for it. and hopes we will meet you in ages to come

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

The Battle Has Just Begun

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

