RSS

Blog-Love for April!

01 Apr

Yes, I’m officially back! 🙂 The internet here got a bit wonky but it’s up and running again, and even though there hasn’t been much happening on the blog in the past few weeks, I haven’t been sitting on my behind and doing bugger-all – I’ve got plenty of posts (including two new reviews) and an interview on the way! 🙂 Plus the giveaway is running, so if you know South Africans who would like a free book, point them my way!

But first, lets get to the links for the first of April – no fools allowed! 🙂

Fantasy Book Critic has got yet another awesome post giving us the low-down for the books hitting the shelves this month!

Graeme has got a review of a great-looking and cool-sounding graphic novel!

Mark Chadbourn has posted the final US cover art of the second book in his Age of Misrule series (damn good art, that, looks awesome!)!

Liz and Mark muse about the Glorious Dead… Zombies! 🙂

Pat has got a new giveaway for us: A Fantasy Medley featuring work by Robin Hobb, Kelly Armstrong, Late Elliott and C. E. Murphy!

Suvudu and Del Rey have either ruined fantasy as a genre or given Paris Hilton a much-needed boost – check this out!

The Genre Files features an interview with Vincent Chong!

Daya gives us her thoughts on the interesting new TV series, Kings (the concept sounds great, but can they keep it fresh?)

Mark has pre-empted me (I wouldn’t have it any other way, awesome Mark!) by spreading the news of what’s going to be happening with A Memory of Light – the final book(s) in the epic Wheel of Time series… AND… He’s also got a great post detailing the SF releases for April! 🙂

Dragons, Heroes and Wizards tackled Greg Keyes’ The Briar King and reviewed it!

John’s Grasping takes us to a post where George Orwell’s son talks about growing up with an immortal public figure,

Nextread has got a great interview with the author of Beat the Reaper!

The Old Bat’s Belfry gives us some great SFF links, way cooler than mine! 🙂

Read a very cool interview with Matt Curran at Un:Bound! 🙂

and last but definitely not least, Speculative Fiction Junkie reviews The Manual of Detection!

One last thing that fans of GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire may enjoy: Piotr over at FantasyFan has started a re-read of that brilliant series – currently still on A Game of Thrones! 🙂

And one last, last thing (I promise!): have you seen the provisional UK cover art for Steven Erikson’s Dust of Dreams? Thanks to Pat for breaking the news for us! Here it is for your viewing, cheering pleasure:

Dust of Dreams

Dust of Dreams

Okay, that’s it for now. Check back tomorrow and I’ll have my review of A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin for you. 🙂

Be Fantastic!

P.S. When I checked my email today, I got the wonderful news that President Barack Obama and myself are related! No joke! Here’s the text of the email, sent to me by our wonderful Apps on Facebook:

Hi,

Barack Obama (Washington, DC) has confirmed you as his fourth cousin once removed on We’re Related.

Follow this link to see how you are related:

I took the link out because, well, you’re not me and it won’t take you anywhere cos you can’t log in as me. 🙂 It’s funny… My parents never said anything… I just hope George Dubya isn’t my grandpa…! 😉

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2009 in Blog-Love

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Blog-Love for April!

  1. Daya

    April 1, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Thanks for the blog love, Dave!

     
  2. TK42ONE

    April 1, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Thanks for the AGOT re-read. I’m on my first read of GRRM (I always seem late to the game) and could use some help.

     
  3. Adele

    April 1, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    thanks for the lovin’ Dave, gives me the warm fuzzies. Always good to get a run down on some of the highlights of other blogs too.

     
  4. Mark Chitty

    April 1, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Excellent stuff again Dave! By the way, I’ve just finished The Warded Man – I’m fully converted and absolutely loved it! I’ll be putting up a mighty fine review for that soon 😀

     
  5. edifanob

    April 3, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Informative post. Thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

