RSS

The South African Post Office Sucks

20 Jan

Please excuse me while I rant a bit. 😦

Remember wayyy back when I won a Limited Edition Signed Copy of Peter F Hamilton’s The Temporal Void on Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist? Well, it arrived, but the Post Office didn’t let me know, and it was sent back, or vanished, or something, because I never picked it up. Except, the thing is I was at the Post Office every damn weekend, asking if it was there, checking their ‘books’ to see if the book had arrived, and every time they said that it hadn’t! 😦 So Pat, if you ever read this, I’m really sorry that you may receive the book back, but it was out of my hands and they buggered me around. 😦

And Jo Graham, 😦 I never received your second book for the same reason. The book arrived, but they never let me know, and each time I was there, they told me that if it wasn’t recorded in their ‘books’ then it hadn’t arrived. So I’m really sorry about that – but as soon as I see it on the shelves here I’ll get myself a copy and read and review it! 🙂

Anyway, ranting’s done. Had to get that off my chest. Bloody Third-World systems and mentality’s…. 😦

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2009 in Musings

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “The South African Post Office Sucks

  1. Dark Wolf

    January 21, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Dave, I am sorry to hear these things. I know what you mean and I am in the same situation. Sometimes my postal office seems to loose some books (they made it with Brent Weeks’ “The Way of Shadows” & “Beyond the Shadows”) and sometimes they say they didn’t receive them. And one time they had the nerve to tell me that they have my book for a week but they sent it back. But the notice in my mailbox didn’t arrived.
    I just hope that all the postal service will work perfectly, but until then I have to pray that they will act as on the good times (fortunately these times are in majority) and bring me the books 🙂

     
  2. Liz

    January 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Email me, DB and I’ll sort out a new Jo-book for you. I can send it on via courier. Also, make sure you keep an eye out on books you want so that when I come over next year I can bring a bag full.

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist with an affinity for satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, Arizona with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

The Battle Has Just Begun

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

