RSS

Happy New Year!

02 Jan

Happy New Year everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, and that your still-felt entry into 2009 was kickass! ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess you’ve all realized that I was away for a while – busy at work (no holiday for me) and many things came up that drained my time, so sorry about that. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

But 2009 is promising to be a big year! Not only have we got some incredible SFF novels coming our way this year, but there are some great movies on the way too; 2009 is the year of the Star Wars Live-Action TV Series, and I for one cannot wait to see it! ๐Ÿ™‚

On the updating side of things, I’ve finished Michael Sullivan’s The Crown Conspiracy and I’ll have that review up for you tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ One of the presents my girlfriend got me was a copy of A Game of Thrones. Yes, I am reading the first book in GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire, and this is already one of the best books I’ve ever picked up. I mean, I’ve read the first volume of GRRM’s Dreamsongs, but this? Damn he can write! I am thoroughly hooked – even read through Smallville’s seventh-series finalรจ! ๐Ÿ™‚ All the hype is well-deserved! ๐Ÿ™‚

And if there’s anyone out there wondering why it’s taken me so long to get my hands on A Game of Thrones… well, put it this way: here in South Africa, the publishers who distribute The Wheel of Time novels didn’t even know that Book 12 was being written by Brandon Sanderson. I was the one who informed them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Now do you understand? We are wayyyy behind – and not just when it comes to the time it takes for books to reach us. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Anyway, I’m just moaning, so I’ll stop. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll also be starting Bruce Skye’s Greyrider soon (in the next two or three days). ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay, that’s about it! Hope you’re all sleeping / recovering / still drunk / enjoying whatever you’re doing / reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Be Fantastic!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2009 in Musings

 

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Tracy Falbe

    January 2, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Oh, to be reading “A Game of Thrones” for the first time again. It’s quite a novel. So hardcore, and with lots of characters to love and hate. I think you’ll like the next 2 books too.

     
  2. davebrendon

    January 2, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Man Tracy, I’ve been missing out bigtime! Now I know why Peter Brett and David Durham go on about the book the way they do! ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
