RSS

Updates and a discovery

15 Dec

Hey Guys and Girls, here’s my discovery: Steph Swainston. Okay, I know that many of you will have heard of her and will have read her novels, but I received a copy of The Modern World in the post last week and have been reading it ever since! I’ve never been clouted over the head with such a tense opening chapter, and even though this is the third book in her series, I’m not finding it difficult to get into. So, if you see the unassuming paperback of The Modern World on a shelf, buy it, because it’s been waiting for you to discover it, too. 🙂

Okay, onto other updates:

The Fan-Made Malazan Audio Book; as I said in a previous post, I’ve gotten permission from Transworld to record and publish a ten-minute excerpt of Steven Erikson’s Gardens of the Moon. I’ve finished the recording, and my friend, Remy, had also finished his recording. I’m going to be waiting until early next year to post it, though, because I’ve gone over the ten-minute limit by a minute and a half, and since normal people (;-)) get to have a break over the holidays, I’ll need to wait until Jan to find out if I can go ahead and post the longer excerpt or if I have to cut it down – or record a different section. Remy and I are in contact and sharing thoughts about it, so we’ll have a back-up ready if Transworld says that he have to stick to the ten-minute excerpt. But as soon as I get any news, I’ll let you all know. 🙂

What else I’m reading; other than The Modern World, I’m also reading The Crown Conspiracy by Michael Sullivan, and Graywalker by Bruce Skye (who are also both on Wonderlands). And I’m making my way through C.C.
Humphreys’ Vlad: The Last Confession, which will be available in Feb ’09. After reading Twelve, I was in the mood for more vampires! 🙂 And last but not least, I’m reading the short story ‘Challenging Lessons’ by Tracy Falbe. I’ll have those reviews for you soon. 🙂

I’ve also read something else that I can’t talk about yet – sworn to secrecy and all that, but I might just drop a few hints in future posts. 🙂 Suffice it to say that what I’ve read will definitely be one of the top Fantasy titles of 2009! 🙂

Also, head on over to Robert V.S. Redick’s site and download the first chapter of The Red Wolf Conspiracy – trust me, after reading that except, you’ll want the whole book! 🙂

I’ve also received more books from Jonathan Ball Publishers (a local South African publisher), and I’ll be posting the photos of the books they sent to me later today (my ‘this evening’).

Okay, that’s about it! 🙂

Be Fantastic!

**UPDATE:

Forgot to mention that I’ve hit 12500 words on the first draft of my Epic Fantasy novel – will be blasting past 13000 words tonight! 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 15, 2008 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Updates and a discovery

  1. Liz

    December 15, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Am proud to be your official nag!

    Keep up the typing – RSI is good for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

welcome back, geist.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

