RSS

Update: Malazan Fan-Made Audio Book

14 Nov

Hey Guys and Girls, I’ve got some good (though not kickass) news for those who have been following this topic:

I’ve received confirmation and permission from Random House that I can go ahead with the audio recording, but the snag is that it cannot, legally, be longer than 10 minutes. This info came through Random House SA (now known as Random Struik) from Transworld in the UK – fans of Erikson’s work will know that Transworld is his publisher. 🙂

I’ve contacted my buddy, Remy, in France, and he’s still keen to do it, so we may end up doing a back-to-back recording of 5 minutes each. When we’re done, we’ll be posting the recording on each of our blogs / sites, and also at malazanempire.com ‘s forums, but I’ll let you all know when it goes up there. 🙂 All you’ll find now is a discussion that’s been closed off, so don’t waste your time looking. 🙂

I hope that this will at least generate interest in getting proper audio books of the Malazan Book of the Fallen made, that would be awesome! So, even if the recordings don’t turn out as great as you hope, please remember that myself or Remy don’t have recording studios or amazing equipment, we’ll do the best we can with what we have. 🙂

Be Fantastic!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Update: Malazan Fan-Made Audio Book

  1. cj

    April 29, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Hi, I just came across this post and realize it was from a couple years ago but was this ever completed?

    Thanks,

    cj

     
    • Dave-Brendon de Burgh

      April 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

      Hey CJ, yep, Transworld gave me permission to do a ten-minute recording, so that was all I was able to do. I would have loved to have been able to do the entire book, but hey, even ten minutes of Malazan awesomeness was kickass to do. 🙂

       
      • Benjamin

        October 6, 2013 at 6:17 pm

        Hi dave, been thinking and Maybe you should try and kick some dirt up and see if you carnt make the audiobooks for the malazan book of the fallen series. I beleave you have a fantastic voice that goes well with the books…none of the audiobooks of by otehr people seem to be as good as your prologue. I think people will agree with me when i say everyone wants you to try again because I for one think they would be amazing. Well, when you have spare time that is as i know your busy, let me know what you think

         

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

Here to Stay

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

The SplatterGeist

this is where it gets awesome

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

