RSS

One day while doing our grocery shopping…

02 Nov

… I got a phone call from my Human Resources Manager. As soon as I knew who it was, my heart did this funny little lurching jump, and by the end of our conversation, I was practically in tears. No joke here, I was very emotional.

We basically spoke about some of us booksellers once again having a job. 🙂 Here’s the gist of what happened: a bigger company (and bigger means much more money) bought the company at an auction, and after much deliberation, they decided to a)close some of the stores for good, b) convert some of the stores into Bargain Books, and c) keep the most profitable stores open, for at least the next 3 months.

So tomorrow I’ll be signing my new 3 month contract, and I’ll also be getting the rest of my October salary on Tuesday or Wednesday! 🙂 So, this post is dedicated to good news!!! 🙂 I’ve got a job again! 🙂

This brings me to the next thing: I’m going to try my damndest and get giveaways going here. 🙂 I’ll swing my proposal by the publishers here in SA, see what they have to say, and let you all know as soon as I know. 🙂

And last but not least, I’ve decided on the next book I’ll be reading! 🙂 I asked you guys to help me out in this post, and since I’ve been reading pleanty of Fantasy the last while, I thought I’d go with the next option (votes-wise), so I chose Incandescence by Greg Egan. 🙂 I’m about a hundred pages in at the moment, and let me tell you, it boggles my mind! This is an intense hard-SF book, not emotionally, but in terms of the concepts. 🙂 I’m really enjoying it, so I should have that review for you in the next week or two. 🙂

Okay, I’m off to smoke a cigarette, watch Awake, and then I’ll be posting a new interview later! 🙂

Be Fantastic!

P.S. thanks to Liz, Mark, Carole, Peter, and everyone else who sent their support and best wishes through – you guys all helped me get through one of the scariest moments in my life (so far), and I could never thank you all enough! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2008 in Announcements, Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “One day while doing our grocery shopping…

  1. Mark Chitty

    November 2, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Excellent news Dave, I’m well chuffed for you 🙂

     
  2. Liz

    November 2, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Oh wow, my friend, I am so pleased for you – this is excellent news. But in the meantime, make sure to have back-ups lined up. All our love, Mark and Liz, London x

     

Leave a Reply

 
M.D. Thalmann / Satire and Sci-fi

M.D. Thalmann, a novelist and freelance journalist specializing in satire and science fiction, lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, children, and ornery cats, reads too much and sleeps too little.

Indie Authors Press

Indie Publishing House

Greyhart Press

Publisher of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Thrillers

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

reviewsm8

Book, comic and sometimes film reviews

The Talkative Writer

Musings by speculative fiction author Karen Miller

Cohesion Press

The Battle Has Just Begun

Dirge Magazine

Dark Culture and Lifestyle Magazine

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Paws in the Porridge

'She is like a muse...who kicks people in the face.'

Matthew Sylvester

father, author, martial artist

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Victoria Davis/ badass blogger

All at once small pieces of my life, work , hobbies, and interest hit you all at once.

Poetic doodlings in C Minor

My journey, inexpertly wrapped in myth and mystery

K.M. Randall

author | editor

