RSS

Some Bad News

27 Oct

I thought I would let you all know about what’s happened, so that you will all be prepared for the way it’s going to be affecting my blog.

On Thursday last week, the company I work for was liquidated, and later that afternoon, all 34 stores that make up the Fascination Books group were closed. About 400 of us are now without jobs, and we also haven’t received our salaries. There might be more news today (hopefully), but until there is, the basic situation is this:

Because I no longer work for a bookshop, I’m unable to keep on getting proof copies or ARCs of the latest SF and Fantasy novels that come to South Africa. I’ve still got plenty of books to read, as I’m sure you’ve all seen in the Poll I posted, so there are still some reviews I can and will do, and I’ll still be doing interviews as I can organize them, but there’ll be a definite downturn in reviews of new publications.

Just thought I’d give you all a reason for why the blog might become boring.

But there are a few reviews on the way: I’ve finished reading Star Wars Coruscant Nights 2 Street of Shadows and The Ten Thousand, and I should be done with Debatable Space in this week. 🙂 I’m still waiting for replies from Russell Kirkpatrick and Drew Karpyshyn, and I’m also glad to report that Philip Palmer has already agreed to an interview! 🙂

So, still some cool things on the way, and rest assured, I’ll do my best to keep this blog interesting. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2008 in Announcements

 

4 responses to “Some Bad News

  1. Mark Chitty

    October 27, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Sorry to hear Dave 😦 Just remember, regardless of how new the book is I come to this blog to read what you post, not info on the latest releases. I know it’s not much, but keep your head up, I’m sure the perfect job is just around the corner 🙂

     
  2. Liz

    October 27, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Ohmighosh! I just saw the news – poor you guys, Dave! You have all my contact details – tell me if you need anything!

    All my love,

    Liz xx

     
  3. Bill Kurfman

    October 28, 2008 at 5:44 am

    If your looking for a Fantasy book check out “Lost In Antiquity”.
    http://www.eloquentbooks.com/LostInAntiquity.html
    Excellent action sequences. Great characters.

     
  4. Carole McDonnell

    October 30, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I can imagine how difficult it is for everyone. All my love and hope for you and will definitely be saying a prayer. I doubt you’ll ever get boring, though. -C

     

Leave a Reply

 
