RSS

Links and News!

10 Aug

Hey guys and girls, hope you’re all enjoying your Monday so far, and if you’re still in bed, I’m insanely jealous!! :-)

Here are the interesting links I came across browsing through Google Reader:

Aidan gave us the goods on Guy Gavriel Kay’s forthcoming novel,

The folks at Angry Robot showed us a trailer wetting our appetites for Tim Waggoner’s Necropolis! :-)

Blood of the Muse is running a giveaway for one of Terry Brooks’ Landover books (which I’ve also entered!),

Fantasy Book Critic has a review of Blood of the Mantis (have to get into these books!) posted by Liviu,

Liz reviewed Angry Robot author Chris Roberson’s Book of Secrets!

One of Peter V Brett’s friends, Matt, has taken over Peat’s Peaphole (the blog, what were you thinking?) and has posted a new, excellent contest – time to get your casting calls in! :-) I’ll be entering, too, of course… :-)

Suvudu reported on Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson being at this year’s Worldcon – I say everywhere where The Wheel of Time is discussed and celebrated, RJ will be there. :-)

And Suvudu also gave us our Hugo winners!! :-)

Adam over at The Wertzone gave us a very interesting post on Dune and what’s been happening in Frank Herbert’s universe since his death – well worth a read!

Wanna check out Path of the Warrior? Must be one of the most bad-ass Warhammer 40K covers I’ve seen in a while! :-) Oh, and it’s Gav Thorpe’s (also now one of Angry Robot’s new authors) latest novel for Black Library. :-)

Over at Un:Bound, Hagelrat reviewed Holly Black’s Valiant (and oh, what a gorgeous cover!). I’ve read Holly’s Tithe, and loved it, so I’ll definitely be reading Valiant! :-)

Ok, now we get to the major news – and sad news, in my opinion. Karen Traviss has quit Star Wars. I’m not surprised, I think it’s been coming for a while now, but it’s still a sad turn of events. I’ve rarely enjoyed the Star Wars EU as much as when reading Karen’s work in it, and though I understand the other side’s arguments against her, I’ve always felt that Star Wars needed something new (or a whole lotof new things) to get it going again. Karen showed us some of those new aspects, updating Star Wars for these new times. And don’t get me wrong, I adore the movies, and no EU novel will ever top them (no, not even The New Jedi Order or The Thrawn Trilogy) but you can bet your ass that the more things stay the same, the more they stagnate.

I remember first finding out about why the Bantam era ended, and thought, “Whoa, but that was Star Wars.” Sure, every other book had a superweapon in it, but superweapons are part of Star Wars! So then we get into The New Jedi Order, taking Star Wars into a darker, grimmer, more realistic direction, opening up the opportunities for even more tales and wonderful characters. Enter Karen Traviss – she does this, and get’s crucified for it. She took Boba Fett, one the coolest characters in Star Wars, gave him depth, emotion, a voice, and made him so much more than the dude the Sarlacc ate, and get’s crucified. We got what we wanted – Star wars changed to suit the times, and we were ungrateful. Ah well.

Check out the rest of the story at these links: Club Jade, the Star Wars message boards, and TheForce.Net.

Now, I”ve been thinking about this for a while – I think Karen Traviss could write some incredible stuff in the Warhammer Universe!! :-) You hear that, BL? Get the ball rolling! :-)

Be EPIC!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2009 in Blog-Love

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Links and News!

  1. Sharon E. Dreyer

    August 10, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Thanks for all the the links. I’ll spend my afternoon going through them.

    Check out my first and recently released novel, Long Journey to Rneadal. This exciting story is a romantic action adventure in space.

     
  2. hagelrat

    August 11, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I’m definitely going to have to look for Holly Black’s other novels, I thought Valiant had some fresh twists.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,431 other followers

